How Can My Soul Be Well?

 

“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go for to you I lift up my soul.” Psalm 143:8

 

One of my favorite hymns is It Is Well With My Soul, penned by Horatio Spafford. I’ve loved it from the time my little hands held a hymnal in the tiny country church where I first met Jesus. Recently, I heard the story behind the hymn and fell in love with it even more.

 

Mr. Spafford wrote the hymn out of personal tragedy. In 1873, Spafford and his family had planned a trip to Europe aboard the SS Ville du Havre. Just as they were preparing to leave, business concerns demanded that Spafford delay his trip. He didn’t want his wife and four daughters to also be delayed, so he sent them ahead while he stayed behind to deal with business. As they began their trek across the Atlantic, the ship collided with a sea vessel and sank rapidly. All four of Spafford’s daughters drowned. His wife, Anna, sent word back to her husband in a telegram saying, “Saved alone…”.

 

Mr. Spafford, stricken with grief, boarded a ship and went to be with his wife. As his ship passed near where his daughters had died, the words of the famous hymn cried out from his shattered heart.

 

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,

When sorrows like sea billows roll;

Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say

It is well, it is well, with my soul

 

I cannot imagine the emptiness of soul Mr. Spafford felt as he mourned the loss of his daughters. His wailing cries to God must have echoed off the ocean waters. And yet, as he laid himself before his Lord, something miraculous happened. Peace entered. Unfailing love washed over his parched soul. He demanded his heart to trust the One whose love for him was fierce, beautiful and unstoppable. As time passed on, I bet there were many days when Mr. Spafford cried out the prayer that is our focus verse today:

 

“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.”

 

Mr. Spafford’s story inspires me. I want to be the kind of woman who, in spite of her circumstances, declares, “It is well with my soul.” Dear friend, is there a circumstance bringing you down today? Are you feeling an emptiness of soul? Do you believe that your Father’s love for you is so fierce, beautiful and unstoppable that he can drench your soul with peace and rest? He is waiting to do just that. Lay your cares and concerns at his feet. He will lift you up and show you the way. As you trust him, be ready to experience the love of your heavenly Father. There is nothing else like it. 

 

 

It Is Well With My Soul. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved March 15, 2017, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/It_Is_Well_with_My_Soul

 

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com