Sometimes A Girl Needs To Shop

 

“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” Proverbs 31:25

 

Sometimes a girl just needs to go shopping. That time for me is now. It’s mid-March as I write this. We are getting the typical springtime snow here in Pennsylvania, and I am so tired of wearing my winter wardrobe. The scarves and sweaters that once felt great on me are now making me feel blah. Yes, I said blah.

 

Tomorrow I’m going shopping – with no kids! Hallelujah!

 

Don’t you just love the feeling of new clothes? Finding the perfect fit and style can make you feel like a new woman. You walk a little taller, smile a little bigger and when someone comments about how cute you look, it’s a serious confidence booster!

 

You know what else I love? That God talks about clothes in the Bible. Our focus verse for today takes us on a unique shopping trip.

 

We get to see a woman whose heart is adorned with strength and dignity. She is confident in who she is and Whose she is; therefore, she has no fear for her future.

 

Don’t you want that kind of heart?

 

God has been dressing my heart for many years. Most days my heart shines with strength and dignity, but there are days when I reject his clothes. Why would I do that, you ask?

 

Because a sin-stained garment felt better in the moment.

 

For example, I put on unforgiveness when my husband made me mad; fear when God told me to step out in faith; complaining when my kids were on my nerves. I put on pride when I wanted all the attention for myself and weakness when God called me to be bold. The sin-stained garment I choose most often is negative thinking about myself or my circumstances. It hangs on me like filthy rags.

 

Let me say again – sometimes a girl just needs to go shopping! Sin-stained garments feel great in the moment but quickly make us feel blah. We know this and yet we keep putting them on! Thank God for his grace and the beautiful clothes he offers us brand new every morning.

 

Strength. Dignity. Praise. Faith. Boldness. Forgiveness. Humility. Joy.

 

 

Oh what love the Father lavishes on us! Whatever sin-stained garment you’ve been wearing, take it off! Ask God to forgive you. If we confess our sins, he is faithful to forgive and purify us from all unrighteousness (1 John 1:9). Let him dress you with beauty. No matter how big your sin, no matter how much you’ve messed up, no matter what anyone else tells you, you have a Father who loves you so much that he sent his Son to die for your sins. Your new clothes have been paid for on the cross. Give yourself completely to him and get ready for a shopping spree! He loves you

 

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com