God Delights In You Simply Because You Are His

 

“The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

 

When the phone rings early on a Sunday morning with your child’s doctor on the other end of the line, it’s never a good thing. My then 6-year-old daughter had been in to see the doctor just a couple days earlier because of some health concerns. Blood had been drawn and this early morning call held the results.

 

“You need to take your daughter to the emergency room as soon as possible. Her body is killing red blood cells faster than she’s making them. We need to run some tests on her right away.”

 

My mind and senses went into overdrive as I woke my husband and started processing the phone conversation. I tried not to panic, but my desperate prayers revealed a heart that feared for my daughter’s life. I gathered my sleeping princess and a few items for the hospital. She had so many questions during our car ride. I tried to reassure her, but her questions and fears echoed my own.

 

Our trip to the emergency room turned into a four-day stay. Four days of tests, blood work and perplexed doctors. Four days of me sitting by her bedside singing, reading and praying. Four days of me begging God to heal her tiny body. I thank God for her healing that came a short time later.

 

I thank him, too, for allowing the human heart to love. A mother’s love is fierce, beautiful and unstoppable.

 

Whether you’ve had an ill child or simply lost your child in a public place for a few minutes, you’ve seen your fierce love in action. If you’ve cradled your child in your arms while singing lullabies, you’ve seen the beauty of your love. And if you’ve walked a hard road with your child, you’ve seen your unstoppable love.  

It’s hard to put a mother’s love into words. Sometimes I try using words to tell my kids how much I love them, but my kids best understand my love through experience.

 

 

This is true, too, of God’s love for us. Dear friend, God’s love for you is fierce, beautiful and unstoppable. He delights in you simply because you are his. Our focus verse uses words to convey his love, but God knows that you will best understand his love through experience. He has orchestrated ways for you to experience his love today. Right now, he’s with you, quieting you with his love. As your kids wake up and the craziness of your day begins, he is with you, delighting in you. When you fall into bed tonight, he is with you, singing over you. Will you look for him? Will you draw near to him? Will you talk with him? Ask him to open your spiritual ears, eyes and heart so you can experience his perfect love. 

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com