When You Can't Do This Mom Thing Anymore

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” Jeremiah 1:5

 

I had just devoured an entire piece of double fudge chocolate cake. It was only nine in the morning. Bedtime was still eleven hours away. I lost track of how many days in a row a sick or unhappy child had me up before the sun, and my morning cup of coffee just wasn’t doing it for me anymore. As I looked around my messy house and listened to my kids fighting in the other room, I sank into the kitchen chair and buried my face in my hands. I wasn’t sure I had what it took to do this mom thing. An older woman told me yesterday that if fighting and sick kids was the hardest thing I was facing, I should feel blessed. I wanted to tell her that being a mom wasn’t the hardest thing I was facing, but it was still hard, and what I really needed was not her insensitive comment but some solid encouragement to get me through my day.

Ever been there?

Our focus verse today comes from the book of Jeremiah. Jeremiah was appointed by God to be a great prophet to the nations, but when God placed that high calling on his life, Jeremiah struggled with self-doubt. He felt ill-equipped and even gave God some reasons why he was the wrong guy for the job.  

Jeremiah looked at his own limited abilities instead of looking at his limitless God.

God basically told him to stop making excuses and rise to the calling. God promised Jeremiah that his presence, power and provision would be with him. After that, God reached out and touched Jeremiah, equipping him and once again declaring the calling on his life.

Sweet friend, are you focusing on your own limited abilities instead of looking at your limitless God? Just like with Jeremiah, God knew you before he formed you in the womb. Before you were born he set you apart from all the other women in the world and appointed you as the mom to your children. He could’ve picked the woman down the street or the woman in your moms’ group or Bible study, but he didn’t. He chose you.  Not only did he choose you, but he equipped you and promised you his presence, power and provision. Stop wasting your thoughts on self-doubt and discouragement. Rise into the high calling God has put on your life. Whatever your day holds as a mom today, trust God. What you do day in and day out matters and does not go unnoticed by your heavenly Father. He loves you so much and is cheering you on every step of the way.  

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com