Choosing To Trust

 

Today’s post feels sort of like a heart ramble. I needed to encourage myself recently to put my trust in the Lord, so I thought maybe you might need the encouragement too. So here goes!

 

I’ve been in this funk lately. I know it’s because of a long trial I’m enduring, but I’m usually able to rise above the dark cloud of funk and walk with strength. But not this time. I’m not sure what changed, but I think God showed me that the reason is I stopped fighting. I started giving up. I started losing hope. Proverbs 15:13 says that “heartache crushes the spirit.”

 

Yep. It sure does.

 

I let my mind wander. My sanity felt like it was holding on by a thread. There were tears. Lots of tears.

 

Ever been there? It sucks.

 

And so there I was…sitting under that dark cloud of funk, feeling pretty sorry for myself. But guess what happened?

 

Can you believe God had the nerve to get all in my business right in the middle of my pity party? He simply whispered to my heart, “Get up! Do what you know to do and trust me!”

 

Yes, he fiercely pursues my heart like that. And, friend, he fiercely pursues you like that.

 

In difficult times, we have to consciously choose, with every fiber of our being, to trust God. This is when the rubber meets the road. This is when our faith is tested.

 

I have found in my own life that the more I know God, and the more of life I experience with God, the more I am able to trust him. As I walk through situations in life that threaten to break me to pieces, I can always fall back on what I already know and have lived through with God. Trusting God brings me peace; it restores my joy; it refreshes my soul. I am able to sing even on my darkest days because I trust in the Lord.

 

If you’re struggling this week with hopelessness and your soul feels crushed, draw near to God. He will draw near to you.

 

Choose today what kind of day you will have. You can choose to give up or get up! You can choose to let the devil get you down and discouraged by challenging what you know and believe, or you can choose to trust God and fight the good fight.

 

Even if you’re facing the hardest thing you’ve ever faced in your life, if you choose to trust God, you can walk with joy and confidence knowing he is going to bring you through this.

 

He IS going to bring you through this!

 

Lay your burdens at his feet. Quiet your mind. Be still. Breathe. Remember that God is good. He is faithful. He is love. He will never leave you nor forsake you. When you rise to your feet, keep your eyes fixed on God and walk with your eyes wide open, expecting God to show up and show off on your behalf. Thank him for all that he is doing and is about to do.

 

 

Chosen and Crowned friend, you are a child of God! Joy is your birthright! Victory is your destiny! And God is still God! In you, Lord my God, I put my trust (Psalm 25:1). 

 

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com