My Response To The State of Our Nation

Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter. – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Our nation wails under a curtain of darkness. Hatred has penetrated our land, ripping families to shreds and leaving them crumpled on the ground like waste ready to be taken out with the trash.  

This matters. Big time. I do not desire to stay silent, but what do I say? What do I do?

My opposing emotions leave me feeling speechless and helpless. It seems better to just shut down and keep to myself.

But here’s the problem when I choose to avoid the problem and keep quiet: My light goes out.

I am the light of the world because I am a follower of Jesus Christ. Jesus says, “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl” (Matthew 5: 14-15).

But I have put my light under a bowl with my silence and inactivity. My silence is a violent injustice to our nation. Silence breeds greater darkness and deeper despair. Silence leaves people more hopeless and hands a megaphone to hate and lies. My silence ushers violence to the front of the line, allowing it to believe it is the only solution to injustice.

“But instead of diminishing evil, violence multiplies it. Through violence, you may murder the hater, but you cannot murder the hate. In fact, violence merely increases hate. So it goes. Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that” (MLK, Jr.).

Only light can drive out darkness. Jesus made you and me the light of the world empowered by his Holy Spirit. The only way we can affect change in the hearts of our human race and in our own hearts is through deeds of love, through being the hands and feet of Jesus. This seems contrary to our human understanding, but love is a powerful force. It has the power to flush out anger, to heal the brokenhearted, to unify the masses. Love is light that pierces the darkness, and Jesus’ brand of love cannot be overcome by darkness.

So I will choose to put my lamp on its stand, because it gives light to everyone around me. What does that practically look like for me this week?

I will first pray that God will teach me to love like he loves, that he will break my heart for what breaks his. I will ask him to show me specifically how, when and where my light can shine. I will depend on his power to fuel my light. Then I will go out, with eyes wide open, ready to love. I will smile at strangers. I will bless someone who has hurt me. I will forgive someone who has offended me. I will look for opportunities to be kind, patient and loving. I will not return anger for anger. I will cast love where I want to cast judgement. I will let my conversations be filled with love, not anger, hate or racism, as I talk about the tragedies with my kids, husband and others.

Jesus says to you and me, “Now get up and stand on your feet. I am sending you to them to open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, so that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me” (Acts 26:17-18).

 

Will you join me, friend? Will you put your lamp on its stand? Imagine, then, how light will ripple through the darkness and drive out hate. Imagine, then, how the banners of hope, healing, and life will once again be lifted high, all to the glory of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. 

 Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com