Stop Complaining About Them

(Repost from 9-28-15)

Character is defined as “the mental and moral qualities distinctive to an individual”. If you’re a mom with more than one child, I bet you’ve been amazed at how each one has distinct qualities that make for very different personalities. What qualities would you use to describe each of your children? No doubt you are thinking of both good and not-so-good qualities.

 

I love thanking God for the wonderful qualities he has uniquely placed in each of my children, but what about the not-so-good? Instead of taking them to God like I should, I’ve been “taking” them to anyone who will listen. Can I get a witness? A lot of breath and energy has been used complaining about my kids instead of championing for them. What does it mean to champion for our children’s character? It means we fight for it! We don’t need to wear ourselves out fighting with our children. We need to wear ourselves out fighting for our children! How do we fight? We fight in prayer!

 

With this fresh conviction on my heart, I changed up my usual prayer place in the kitchen, and instead, prayed in my kid’s bedrooms. As I sat on each of their beds and prayed for their character, tears spilled down my cheeks. The words from a favorite worship song poured from my lips, “Holy Spirit, you are welcomed here. Come flood this place and fill the atmosphere.” I stood to my feet and walked around each child’s room, my arms stretched out wide. “Holy Spirit, fill the atmosphere of this house! Fill the atmosphere of my child’s heart! Fill it! Fill it with your character!”

 

What is the character of our triune God (Father, Son, and Holy Spirit)? The Bible gives us nine distinctive qualities: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (Galatians 5:22-23). Just imagine, dear Mom Friend, how the atmosphere of our homes and hearts would be transformed if we started championing for the character of God to reign! What miracles would unfold before our eyes if we prayed that God’s presence would overwhelm us?

 

God, let love reign!

 

Let joy reign!

 

Let peace reign!

 

Let patience reign!

 

Let kindness reign!

 

Let goodness reign!

 

Let faithfulness reign!

 

Let gentleness reign!

 

Let self-control reign!

 

All glory to God! When our children invite Jesus to be their Lord and Savior, God sends his Spirit to dwell in them. His grace makes these qualities a reality for our children and for our families through the working power of his Holy Spirit! Mom Friend, let’s decide today to stop complaining and start championing!

 

Let’s pray like our kid’s lives depend on it because they do! If possible, change up your usual prayer place today and go pray in each of your children’s rooms. Sit on their beds. Walk around their rooms with your arms stretched wide. Put on the worship song “Holy Spirit” by Francesca Battistelli and let it lead you into a powerful time of praise, worship and petition.

 

God, we come to you boldly today and ask you to fill the atmosphere of our homes and hearts with your character and presence! Forgive us for complaining and help us begin championing! Let the fruit of your Holy Spirit grow abundantly in our hearts. Let love reign! Let joy reign! Let peace reign! Let patience reign! Let kindness reign! Let goodness reign! Let faithfulness reign! Let gentleness reign! Let self-control reign! (Galatians 5:22-23) Flood us with your Spirit!  

 

Thank you for the working power of your Holy Spirit in ________. When I am feeling discouraged over my child’s not-so-good qualities, I will put my hope in you! I will trust in you because I know you have started a good work in ________ and you will be faithful to complete it! (Philippians 1:6)

 

Thank you for loving each of us despite our many flaws. You are never mad at us. You are never disappointed with us. Because of Jesus’ great sacrifice, we have been perfected in your sight. (Hebrews 10:14) What amazing grace! In that same grace, help me to train my child in the way he should go. Forgive me for forcing when I should be surrendering. I want to cooperate with you, Lord, as you gently mold ________’s heart and make it like yours. In Jesus’ powerful name I pray.

Amen!

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com