Longing for Relief in a Burden-filled Season

You might be reading this from some sunny, warm area of the country. If so, please invite me to visit because where I live, it hasn’t been warm or sunny. And I am so over it!  In fact, this past weekend, when the weatherman announced a winter weather advisory, I put on all black and told my family that I was in mourning over the loss of spring. As you might be able to tell, I have been complaining about the weather…a lot!

 

I even whined to God, “How long, Lord?”

 

As I watched the snow fall and cover the ground, I began thinking, though, about how extended winter seasons are a great illustration for dark and wearisome seasons of life. Have you ever been in one of those and found yourself asking, “How long, Lord?” Maybe you’re in one right now.

 

When King David found himself in a burden-filled season, he complained too, “How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide your face from me? How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and every day have sorrow in my heart?” (Psalm 13:1-2).

 

David’s difficult season of life had tarried too long and he was so over it! His heart was burdened with sorrow and he prayed earnestly for relief.

 

It is normal for any human, when trouble lasts a long while, to think that it will last always. When we have long been without joy and hope, it’s easy to fall into complaining, but what we must do is fall into prayer.

 

This is what David did and he experienced a shift in perspective, “But I trust in your unfailing love, my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, for he has been good to me” (Psalm 13:5-6).

 

As David fell on his knees and brought his complaints and burdens before the throne of mercy, God helped him believe again. He strengthened David’s faith and reminded him of his goodness.

 

Though it still felt and looked like winter for David, he rose from his knees with confidence, knowing that a new season would surely come.

 

Dear friend, if you can bring your big problems to the feet of Jesus and leave them there, he will lift up your weary head to see that he is bigger. He will help you climb from your pit of despair back to solid ground where confidence and joy abound. God is faithful to carry you through every difficult season. Sometimes relief will come quickly, other times slowly. But a new season of life will surely come. We will find that our complaints were unnecessary, and we will acknowledge that the Lord, indeed, has been good to us. Praise him today!

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com