I Thought They'd Think This Easter Tradition Was Weird

This week, I’m excited to share with you a favorite Easter tradition I started with my family four years ago. I was a little nervous to do it because I thought my family would think it was weird. But then I remembered that my kids and husband have come to expect me to be weird, so I decided to forge ahead! Guess what…the kids loved it! And my husband has to go along with it now because he’s outnumbered.

 

The tradition is to share a Passover meal together. During the meal, we take turns reading about the Last Supper in Luke 22:7-30. If my kids are still paying attention, we read more, but usually we just talk about the rest of the events that happened that night and the days leading up to the crucifixion of Jesus. We also talk about how Passover started and that Jesus is our perfect Passover lamb (1 Corinthians 5:7). The explanation of the origin of Passover is in Exodus 12.

 

We also share communion together, which my husband leads. This. Is. AWESOME…and is one of my favorite parts of the whole thing. There’s nothing quite like a man who will step up to do something he’s uncomfortable doing because he knows how important it is to his wife! Little does he know, too, what an incredible example he is setting for his kids.

 

I digress.

 

Here’s my secret to the success of this tradition…

 

I keep it simple.

 

I’ve included a picture to show you our table. The most important foods I make sure to include are the unleavened bread and wine (grape juice). I confess that I bought flatbread instead of the traditional matzah bread because I wasn’t sure that my kids and hubby would eat the matzah. This year, though, I think I’m going to try the real thing! And my kids think it’s so totally cool to drink grape juice and pretend they’re drinking wine. Remember feeling that way when you were a kid?!

 

Along with the bread and “wine”, I incorporate some of the other traditional Passover foods like hard boiled eggs, romaine lettuce, walnuts and apples.

 

My kids love to turn off the lights and eat with only candle light. This makes them feel like they’re having a more authentic experience. After all, Jesus and his disciples didn’t have electricity. Never mind that so many other aspects of our Passover meal are not authentic, but the fun and memories we are creating are the real deal. And the meaningful discussions we share together about Jesus grow deeper with each passing year.

 

So what do you think? I’d love to know if you’ve done this with your family or would like to start this year. Maybe you have a unique tradition you’d like to share with me and the rest of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Do tell! I always love hearing from you!

 

Happy Easter! May it be a blessed one!

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com