I'd Rather Visit The Gynecologist

 

I want to talk about sin today. I know, super fun topic, right? I think I'd rather endure a trip to the gynecologist. Okay, maybe not.

 

But, I would be doing you a great disservice if I only wrote about things that made you feel good . We live in a culture that tells us that whatever feels right must be right, that whatever seems best for you is truly what’s best for you.

 

Our culture greatly deceives us.

 

The Bible says that the wisdom of this world is foolishness to God and that we should not deceive ourselves. “If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a ‘fool’ so that he may become wise” (1 Corinthians 3:18-19). Let’s push each other to become wise by God’s standards, shall we?

 

It’s a great honor to be God’s Chosen and Crowned, and there are unbelievable privileges we get to enjoy as his daughters; however, with this position comes great responsibility. We must make it our business to bring glory and honor to our God by practicing self-control over our attitudes, thoughts, words and actions.

 

Dear friend, I want more than anything to see you walking in the fullness of life God has planned for you, but if you are continuing down a path of destructive behaviors or thoughts, you are putting yourself once again in bondage.

God’s plan is for you to live free. His plan is that you would enjoy life with him, with others, and in the work he has given you to do. But, so often, we miss out because we continue in attitudes or behaviors that are contrary to God’s perfect plan for us.

 

So often we think we’re getting along just fine as long as we stay away from the “big” sins. You know, like murder, stealing, or adultery. Here’s the thing though, God doesn’t look at sin and call it big or little; he just calls it sin. And he wants us to have nothing to do with it. Things like unwholesome talk, gossip, using the Lord’s name in vain, unforgiveness, drunkenness, lust, pride, envy, jealousy. The list could go on.

 

God also tells us to deal with the idols in our life. These are things we give more of our time, money and attention to than we do to God. Idols can include things like food, work, social media, exercise, people, money, possessions, hobbies and television.

 

I’m challenging you today to take an inventory of your life. Ask God to show you if there is anything you’re doing or thinking that is dishonoring him and tripping you up on the path of abundant life he has blazed for you.

 

I have found that the best tool for opening my eyes is God’s Word. Through scripture, God helps us understand his good, pleasing, and perfect will for our lives. There is so much practical, easy-to-understand, life-application teaching in the New Testament. So, get your Bible out and start reading, my friend! Let the Holy Spirit do his thing. He is your counselor and teacher. As you read, ask him to open your eyes and teach your heart. May your ears be open to hear the life-giving whispers of God. If you feel the Holy Spirit convicting you of any sin in your life, simply admit it, face it, give it to God and ask for his forgiveness. Know that, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9).  

 

 

Thanks for sticking it out with me today. It’s okay to deal with the yuck. Why? Because God cleanses us from it and then makes our crowns shine even brighter! Shine brightly today, my Chosen and Crowned friend!

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Brooke (Wednesday, 02 March 2016 08:33)

    "...and He wants us to have nothing to do with it." I don't often comment Anna, but this really stuck with me. And thank you for reminding me of the grace that follows when I do find myself suddenly walking the path of this world. Foolish is such a perfect word. Peace and love friend!

  • #2

    Karen (Thursday, 03 March 2016 13:45)

    Thanks so much for this post. Sin is so sneaky. God has led me lately to really examine my thought life. As I honestly looked at it I found some surprising things that have snuck in over a period of time. Nothing "big" you might say but still sin and still very very damaging to myself and my relationships. Things like wrong attitudes, self-pity and even some bitterness. This post spoke to me as even wrong thinking can be sin. Thank you for the encouragement to turn from all forms of sin "big" & seemingly "small". Love ya! God bless!

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com