Unwrapping Your True Identity

I promise you…this will change your life. How quickly do you respond to this kind of promise? For me, it took about two years. When I was in my twenties, I watched a well-known Bible teacher almost every day on television. She would often promise me that if I would learn about who I was “in Christ” that it would literally change my life forever. She then put out a challenge. I was to look up every reference in the Bible that used “in Christ” and ask God to open my mind to understand what his Word said about my true identity.

 

What does “in Christ” even mean? I had heard this phrase a thousand times growing up in the church, but I honestly had no clue what it meant. If you’re also wondering, I have since figured it out, so let me tell you! Basically, it refers to who you really are at your core because Christ died for you. It’s your true identity. It’s the way God sees you. It’s an identity that cannot be shaken by your successes or failures. It cannot be shaken by what others think of you or the labels they have put on you. It’s who you are. It’s a very real, but hidden identity that will only be found as you draw closer to God. The Bible says that your life is hidden “in Christ”, so the more you seek him, the more you will find of him. And the more you find of him, the more you will find of yourself. Not sure if that makes sense or not, but please feel free to ask me questions in the comment section!

 

So, when we seek out our identity and happiness in jobs, people and material items, we will eventually reach a point of unrest and disappointment. We will continue to struggle with insecurity and unfulfilled longings because all of those things change with the ebb and flow of life’s circumstances. Only God stays the same. Only “in Christ” will we find a firm foundation for our lives and an unshakeable declaration of our identity.

 

To say that this Bible teacher’s challenge changed my life would be an understatement. Chosen and Crowned was born out of the affect it had on my heart.

 

Sweet friend, before time began, God chose you to be his. When you give your life to Christ, you become his Chosen and Crowned daughter. He bestows a crown of beauty and life on you that can never be taken away. He begins the process of restoring you from the inside out. God says that your life will become a display of his splendor!  

 

 

Stay with me during this blog series as I ask God to help me unwrap this amazing gift he has given us “in Christ”.  Pull up a chair next to me. We’ll peel away the wrapping one layer at a time. As you commit to this challenge, you will feel God peeling away your layers of insecurity, shame and guilt so that your true identity will be revealed. It will be a gift unlike anything you’ve ever received!

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Karen K (Wednesday, 20 January 2016 08:13)

    Thanks so much Anna! Truly needed to hear this today! Don't know why I always fall back to measuring my worth by my performance (I do know better), but reminders like this help me to get back to what I know is true. Thanks again for this much needed breath of fresh air! God bless! Praying for you as always!!

  • #2

    Anna (Wednesday, 20 January 2016)

    Love you, Karen! It's always so nice hearing from you! Thank you for being a mighty prayer warrior for me!

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com