When My Spirit Fails Within Me

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Psalm 143:8

 

The blaring sound coming from my alarm clock told me it was a new day, but my heart reminded me that I was still stuck in yesterday’s battle. I reached my arm out from beneath the warm covers and smacked the snooze alarm. Was it morning already?

 

Just several hours before, words had been spewed on me. Careless words that brought a flood of tears and threatened to steal my joy.  

 

I sat on the edge of my bed determined. No one and no thing would be stealing my joy today. I slid my feet into fuzzy slippers then wrapped my robe tightly around myself.  As was my morning routine, I tip-toed down the stairs and into the kitchen to brew a pot of coffee. My kids were still asleep; the sun had not yet risen. This was my time. My time to meet with the One who loves me. My time to offer up my wounded heart and stand at the battle line of this new day. I picked up my sword, which is my Bible, the very Word of God and opened it to the book of Psalms where I knew my pain could find solace. Before I could fight the battles that this day would surely bring, I needed God to strengthen my weary heart.

 

“Answer me quickly, Lord. My spirit fails. Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you” (Psalm 143:8).

 

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love. Unfailing love is perfect love. Perfect love casts out all fear.  Perfect love says you are enough. You are loved. You are my masterpiece. You have purpose. You have been set apart not set aside.

 

Dear friend, isn’t it amazing that we can meet with the God of this universe first thing in the morning, bedhead and all, and let his perfect love fill us? When we make room in our busy schedules to draw near to God, he will draw near to us. He will strengthen us for the battle. As his chosen and crowned daughters, we are not victims, we are victors. Who we are has been declared. No circumstance or person can alter that. Has someone spewed careless words on you? God declares that you are precious. Do you feel weak? God declares that you will soar with wings as eagles.

 

 

Don’t let the careless words of man drown out the care-full declarations of God. Beloved, you are his Chosen and Crowned. 

 

Anna Frye is a speaker, author, television host and founder of the Chosen and Crowned tribe. She invites moms and wives to celebrate imperfect progress fueled by the grace of a perfect God. She helps women bravely talk about the messy places of life, instead of hiding shamefully under them. She believes that lasting beauty comes when women courageously surrender their ashes to God and allow him to do something mind-blowingly amazing with them. If this resonates with you, then you belong with the Chosen and Crowned tribe. Connect at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com