Take Hold Of That For Which Christ Took Hold Of You

Welcome back to Week 3 of Wife Army ‘15! There is no formal blog today, but I wanted to give you an Action Point, our week's Prayer Point, a scripture-based encouragement and a Scripture Prayer for your husband’s heart. 

 

Scripture-based Encouragement

I want to know Christ. For to know Christ is to know everything that is good, beautiful and true. It is to experience the power of life over death. It is becoming like him in suffering so that I may someday glory with him in victory. Therefore, I press on. I press on in prayer for my marriage so that my husband and I can take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of us. Goodness. Beauty. Life. Glory. Victory. Truth. Freedom. Love. My husband and I do not consider ourselves yet to have taken hold of all these things. Far from it. But one thing we do: Forget what is behind and strain toward what is ahead. We press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called us heavenward in Christ Jesus.

 

All of you who have made some imperfect progress in your faith should take such a view of things. Press on because there are still mountains to be conquered. You cannot afford to become lazy in prayer and spiritual training. And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you. But for the things he has already made clear, put into practice those truths and commands. Link arms with those who follow Christ’s example and take note of how they live. For as I have often told you before and now say again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. Their destiny is destruction. Their minds are set on earthly things, but not you, dear Chosen and Crowned friend. Your citizenship is in heaven. We eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ. He has been given power and authority to bring everything under his control. Everything. Every stronghold. Every addiction. Every fear and all discouragement. Every wrong thought and hard heart. Every evil thing that sets itself up against your marriage. Therefore, Christ is more than able to transform your marriage into all he designed it to be. Praise him! – Anna Frye, based on Philippians 3:10-4:1; written for Wife Army ‘15

 

Prayer Point 3: Press on in prayer and spiritual training to take hold of that which Christ took hold of you.

 

Action Point: Write Philippians 3:13-14 on a dry erase board or note card, and put it in a place where you will see it often. Meditate on it and pray it next time you need to press on in prayer for your marriage.

 

Scripture Prayer

God, I realize that the battle for my marriage has only just begun. The enemy will try to destroy us until the day we are taken home to be with you in glory. Help me, Lord, to set my face like a stone and press on in prayer and spiritual training. Don’t allow discouragement to keep my face pressed to the mat. Give me strength to rise and shake the dust off. Remind me that I am clothed with dignity and strength. Let each morning bring me word of your unfailing love. Because you help me, Sovereign Lord, I will not be disgraced or put to shame.

 

When my spirit fails, do not hide your face from me. Answer me quickly or I will become like those who go down to the pit. Though trouble comes, I will not fall, for you are with me and in me. You will help me at the break of day and command your loving kindness to strengthen me in all my waking hours.

 

My trust is in you alone, Lord. I give you my husband’s heart today and ask that you make it like yours. Help us to link arms with other couples who follow your example. Show my husband and me how to take note of how they live and then live it ourselves. So many couples live as enemies of you, Jesus. Their destiny is destruction and their minds are on earthly things. Let that not be our destiny. Help us take every thought captive and make it obedient to Christ. We humble ourselves under your authority in our lives and marriage. Thank you for your perfect love. Amen!

 

Philippians 3:10-4:1; Psalm 46:5; 143:8, Proverbs 31:25; Isaiah 50:7


If you missed the intro to Wife Army '15 and the first three prayer points, read

Let The Fight Begin,

Finding Freedom From An Ugly Side Of Marriage,

Your Biggest Struggle To Fulfilling God's Purpose For Your Marriage, and

Can A Dead Marriage Be Brought Back To Life

For all other Wife Army '15 posts and prayers, visit Anna's blog

 

This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart is to raise up a growing army of women (#WifeArmy15) who courageously pray scripture over their marriages and expect mind-blowing results. This series runs from Oct. 19-Nov. 13. Join the Wife Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.


Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com