You Have To Decide If You Want Your Marriage To Work

 

Welcome back! There is no formal blog today, but I wanted to give you an Action Point, our week's Prayer Point, a quote and a Scripture Prayer for your husband’s heart. 

 

 “You have to decide if you want your marriage to work, and if you want it badly enough to do whatever is necessary, within healthy parameters, to see it happen. You have to believe the part of your relationship that has been eaten away by pain, indifference, and selfishness can be restored. You have to trust that what has swarmed over you, such as abuse, death of a child, infidelity, poverty, loss, catastrophic illness, or accident, can be relieved of its death grip. You have to determine that everything consuming you and your husband, such as workaholism, alcoholism, drug abuse, or depression, can be destroyed. You have to know that whatever has crept into your relationship so silently and stealthily as to not even be perceived as a threat until it is clearly present – such as making idols of your career, your dreams, your kids, or your selfish desires – can be removed. You have to trust that God is big enough to accomplish all this and more." - Stormie Omartian, The Power of a Praying Wife

 

Action Point: Write Philippians 1:6 on a dry erase board or notecard, and put it in a place where you will see it often. Meditate on it and pray it next time you need to believe bigger things for your husband’s heart.

 

Prayer Point 2: Pray believing that God is able to do immeasurably more than all you ask or imagine.  

 

Scripture Prayer:

God, I believe you are able to do immeasurably more than all I ask or imagine for my husband, my marriage and myself. Let us stand in awe of your power and majesty. I humble myself before you today, Father.

 

Cleanse my husband and me from all our filthiness and from our idols. Give us new and undivided hearts and put a new spirit within us. Remove the heart of stone and give us hearts of flesh. Put your Spirit within my husband and me. Cause us to walk in your statutes.

 

When I am confused, offended or angry, I will trust in you with all my heart and not lean on my own understanding. I will acknowledge you in all my ways and you will make my paths straight.  

 

Lord, I submit to you today whatever controls my husband and me. Whether we struggle with fear, anger, insecurity, sickness, failure, depression, addiction, or abusiveness, I can release every one of those things into your hands and trust you to stop evil and permit good. You have not given us a spirit that makes us fearful slaves. Instead, you gave us your Spirit when you adopted us as your own Chosen and Crowned children. In the authority you have given me as your daughter in Christ, I ask that you will establish a hedge of protection around my husband’s heart, around my heart and around our marriage. Everything we do flows from our hearts, so guard them and make us like you, Father.

 

Thank you for the work you are doing in us. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen!

 

Ephesians 3:20; Ezekial 36:25-27; Romans 8:15; Proverbs 3:5, 4:23


If you missed the introduction to Wife Army '15 and the first two prayer points, read "Let the Fight Begin" "Finding Freedom From The Ugly Side Of Marriage" and 

“Your Biggest Struggle To Fulfilling God’s Purposes For Your Marriage”

 

 This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart is to raise up a growing army of women (#WifeArmy15) who courageously pray scripture over their marriages and expect mind-blowing results. This series runs from Oct. 19-Nov. 13. Join the Wife Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com