Your Biggest Struggle To Fulfilling God's Purpose In Your Marriage

If you missed the introduction to Wife Army '15, read "Let The Fight Begin" and "Finding Freedom From The Ugly Side Of Marriage." 


Week 2 Prayer Point: Pray believing that God is able to do immeasurably more than all you ask or imagine.

 

When your marriage is in shambles and you’ve been given the assignment to pray, it is almost impossible to imagine beauty rising from the ashes. But let me ask you this, is your God big enough to do this? In my book, “Extraordinary You”, I write:

 

“Your biggest struggle to fulfilling God’s purposes for you (and your marriage) will not be the assignment God gives you, but the battle of what you think about yourself (and your husband), and what you think about God. God has a mind-blowing plan for your life (and marriage). But if you don’t believe it, you will never achieve it.

 

“The good news is that you get to choose what you hold in your mind to be true. When you choose to believe God’s truth and throw away the lies of the enemy, you will find strength and confidence to move forward. Second Corinthians 10:5 says to take every thought captive and make it obedient to Christ. That means you must know God’s Word and believe what it says about who God is and who you are in Christ.

 

“My dear friend, out of your ashes God will bestow on you (and your marriage) a crown of beauty. Out of the ruins and devastated places (of your marriage) God will restore them completely, even if those places have been devastated for generations. In place of your shame and disgrace, He will give you blessing and honor. He will bind up your broken heart and set you free from your darkness. He will pour out his favor on you (and your marriage) in such abundance that your life will be a display of his splendor (Isaiah 61:1-7). Praise God for his goodness, power and mercy!”

 

Friend, God has given us the assignment to pray. Let’s pray believing the God is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine. When we pray with faith, we can expect mind-blowing results.

 

Scripture Prayer:

Almighty God, forgive me for making you a small God. Help my unbelief! I know that you are able to do in my marriage immeasurably more than all I ask or imagine. Great are you, Lord! You are most worthy of my praise! I will meditate on your wonderful miracles. Your awe-inspiring deeds will be on my tongue. I will proclaim your greatness.

 

Lord, you always keep your promises. You are gracious in all you do. You help me when I fall and lift me when I’m bent beneath the load of the enemy. I look to you in hope. You will give me everything I need and satisfy the hunger in my heart.

Lord, you are close to me when I call on you. Yes, when I call on you in truth. You grant the desires of my heart as I honor you. You hear my cries for help and rescue me. Thank you.

 

God, restore to my husband and me the years that have been eaten by swarming locusts. Bring abundant life to my marriage. Nothing is as dead as it seems, as long as I’m praying. I know that the power that raised Jesus from the dead is the same power working behind the scenes to resurrect the seemingly dead places of my marriage. You are able, God! Do it! You will raise us up by your mighty power! Thank you! In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen!

 

Ephesians 3:20; Psalm 145; Joel 2:25, 1 Corinthians 6:14

 

This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart is to raise up a growing army of women (#WifeArmy15) who courageously pray scripture over their marriages and expect mind-blowing results. This series runs from Oct. 19-Nov. 13. Join the Wife Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.

Write a comment

Comments: 3
  • #1

    Karen K (Tuesday, 27 October 2015 05:14)

    I think that subconsciously when I pray I have the idea that God might, maybe barely answer my prayer. The fact that He wants to do immeasurably more than all I ask or imagine (in His time and way) really speaks to me. I realize that though I know I have a big God, if I'm truly honest with myself, I have to admit I am not behaving like I really believe that. Thank you for a much needed reminder!

  • #2

    Anna (Tuesday, 27 October 2015 07:40)

    I'm right there with you, Karen! I'm preaching to myself with these blogs! My new favorite quote is this: Don't tell God you have a big problem. Tell your problem you have a big God.

  • #3

    Shelley (Thursday, 29 October 2015 13:07)

    Ahhh, such refreshing reminders for my heart! It's so easy to give in to the lies of the enemy. It's so easy to believe destructive untruth about ourselves and those we love. I'm committing myself to your scripture prayer over my own heart, my sweet husband's, and our marriage.

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com