Let My Words Bring Life To My Marriage

If you missed the introduction to Wife Army '15 and this week's prayer point, go to www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog to read all the posts for Week One of Wife Army '15. 

 

Welcome back! There is no formal blog post today. I'm keeping it short and sweet with an Action Point, this week's Prayer Point, a quote, and a new Scripture Prayer that deals with the words we speak.

 

 

Thank you for staying with me through Week 1. Once you're done praying today, will you post a quick comment and let me know how you're doing? Thank you, my Chosen and Crowned sister!

 

Action Point: Write Proverbs 15:1 on a dry erase board or notecard, and put it in a place where you will see it often. Meditate on it and pray it next time you're tempted to speak a harsh word.

 

"There is a time to speak and a time not to speak, and happy is the man whose wife can discern between the two. A wife has the ability to hurt her husband more deeply than anyone else can, and he can do the same to her. No matter how much apology, the words can not be erased. They can only be forgiven and that is not always easy. Sometimes anything we say will only hinder the flow of what God wants to do, so it's best to, well, shut up and pray."  -Stormie Omartian, The Power of a Praying Wife

 

Prayer Point: Pray First. Don't Fight First. 

 

Scripture Prayer: 

God, thank you that you know the plans you have for me. They are plans for good and not for disaster, plans to give me a future and a hope. Your Word says that when I pray, you listen. And if I look for you wholeheartedly, I will find you. What a wonderful promise! 

 

Today, Lord, I pray over my mouth. Let every word that comes from my mouth be pleasing to you! Help me control my tongue! You warn me that a harsh word stirs up anger, but a gentle answer turns away wrath. Let my words be gentle. You compare words to tiny sparks that can set a great forest on fire. Oh God, may my words not burn up my marriage, but breathe life into it!

 

God, only you can tame my tongue. Sometimes it praises you, my Lord and Father, and sometimes it curses my husband who has been made in your image. This should not be! Forgive me! Let my conversations always be gracious so that I will bring honor to my husband and to you. In Jesus' powerful name I pray. Amen!

 

Jeremiah 29:11-12,; James 3:1-12; Proverbs 15:1; Colossians 4:6

 

 

This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart is to raise up a growing army of women (#WifeArmy15) who courageously pray scripture over their marriages and expect mind-blowing results. This series runs from Oct. 19-Nov. 13. Join the Wife Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Karen K (Friday, 23 October 2015 05:43)

    Anna,
    Thanks so much for this blog series! Already I feel a great weight being lifted as I focus on praying for my husband rather than dwelling on any difficulties we have or have had. Marriage is no fairy tale. It's a wonderful blessing, but like most things in life that are worthwhile, it's hard work. We really need God's help in doing that work, but it's so easy to forget and try to "fix" things in our own power. Thank you for keeping us grounded in His word, our source for a successful marriage and life. God bless!!

  • #2

    Anna (Friday, 23 October 2015 22:00)

    Well said, Karen! So glad you are a part of Wife Army! You are a blessing to me!

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com