Help Me Make Allowance For My Husband's Faults

If you missed the introduction to Wife Army '15 and this week's prayer point, read "Let the Fight Begin" and "Finding Freedom From An Ugly Side of Marriage"

 

Welcome back! There is no formal blog today, but I wanted to give you an Action Point, our week's Prayer Point, a quote and a Scripture Prayer that deals with your heart. 

 

Action Point: Write Colossians 3:12-13 on a dry erase board or notecard, and put it in a place where you will see it often. Meditate on it and pray it next time you need extra strength.

 

"Have you ever been so mad at your husband that the last thing you wanted to do was pray for him? So have I. It's hard to pray for someone when you're angry or he's hurt you. But that's exactly what God wants us to do. In order to break down the walls in our hearts and smash the barriers that stop communication, we have to be totally up front with the Lord about our feelings. We don't have to 'pretty it up' for Him. He already knows the truth. He just wants to see if we're willing to admit it and confess it as disobedience to His ways. If so, He then has a heart with which He can work." - Stormie Omartian, The Power of a Praying Wife

 

Prayer Point: Pray First. Don't Fight First. 

 

Scripture Prayer:

God, help me be the wife you've called me to be today. Help me respect the position of my husband as head of our marriage. I fall so short some days, but I'm thankful that you never stop working on my heart. Help me surrender myself fully to you every hour of every day. Help me lay down all my expectations at your feet and release my husband from the burden of trying to fulfill them. You are enough for me, Lord. Only you can fulfill my needs.

 

God, since you chose me to be holy and because you love me, your Word tells me to clothe myself with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Above all, you tell me to put on love, which binds my husband and me together in perfect harmony. Let the peace that comes from Christ rule in our hearts, for you have called us to peace. 

 

Help me to make allowance for my husband's faults and to forgive him when he offends me. Help me to always remember that you forgave me, so I must forgive my husband. It's time for me to get rid of anger, rage, malicious behavior, slander and dirty language. Help me, God! When I made the decision to make you Lord of my life, I stripped off my old sinful nature and all its wicked deeds. Help me to daily put on my new nature. Renew me as I learn to know my Creator and become more and more like him. 

 

Some days things are so hard with my husband that I can't see my way and I don't know what to do. When I'm walking in darkness, without a ray of light, help me trust in the name of Jesus and rely fully on you, God. Let your light shine on me and my doubts. Let your light be sufficient enough to direct my paths. I praise you for your love and faithfulness. Thank you that you are already at work in me, in my husband and in my marriage. Even when I don't see changes, I will put my trust in Jesus, my Rock, my Savior and my Deliverer. Amen!

 

Additional prayer for those in a hurting marriage:

Heavenly Father, you know my hurt. You see how deeply my heart has been wounded by my husband. Today, help me surrender every hurt and offense to you. As I surrender, begin to heal my heart and my marriage. Your Word tells me that you are close to the broken hearted and save those who are crushed in spirit. That's me, God. Thank you for holding tightly to me and saving me. I need you desperately. 

 

Colossians 3:8-10, 12-15; Psalm 34:18, Isaiah 50:10

 

This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart is to raise up a growing army of women (#WifeArmy15) who courageously pray scripture over their marriages and expect mind-blowing results. This series runs from Oct. 19-Nov. 13. Join the Wfie Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com