Have You Ever Felt Like An Unlovable Failure?

 

 

By Katie Maude Fields

www.readkidstruth.com

Instagram: Ktmaude

 

 

Have you ever felt like a complete failure as a mom? I remember sitting on my kitchen floor crying while being surrounded by all my children who were also crying. Ever been there? In that desperate moment, I felt unlovable, but I remembered that Christ loves me even when I screw up. He loves me not for what I do, but for who I am as His child. I want to love my kids in the same way, don’t you? As I talk to them about their character and attitude, I must remember to love them as God so graciously loves me.

 

 

Sadly though, there is a problem I see. I bet you notice it too. There are times kids feel like unlovable failures, too.

 

All across America, children are filling desks, but their hearts are filled with brokenness and defeat. They long to be loved. This longing for love, approval and wholeness can often drive them to do and say things that are not edifying or loving.

 

Here’s the challenge: we must love our own children with our whole life and not just our lips, so that they may see character development in their own home.

 

Here’s the goal: That our lives, as their parent, exhibit compassion, patience, meekness and a love for Jesus and for others. That we truly care for the people around us and for the peers that fill the seats in their classrooms. Our children will make mistakes in word and actions, and so will their classmates. We need to help our precious children learn how to “put on” the character of Christ. As Paul says so beautifully in Colossians 3:12-14, " As God's chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues, put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity."

 

Friend, this is no easy task! But, as we grow in our own personal relationships with Christ, we will more consistently “put on” Christ’s character because we are chosen of God, holy and beloved. And as our children grow in their relationship with Christ, his character will organically take shape in them.

 

How beautiful it will be when classrooms become filled with children whose hearts are full of love and acceptance. What a privilege to join God in the life-changing work He is doing in our children!


Now #MomArmy15, let’s pray like our kid’s lives depend on it! You may use the scripture prayer below and insert your child’s name when you see a blank. Or feel free to use other scriptures God has placed on your heart. We would love it if you typed at least one sentence of your prayer in the comments section or left a comment that shares your heart with us. We love you!


God, I praise you for the work you are doing in ________'s heart. Thank you that you have chosen ________ to be your holy and beloved child. Clothe ________ in compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Help him to bear with his peers and forgive whatever grievances he may have against another student. Let ________ forgive just as you have forgiven him. And over all these virtues, dress ________ in love, which binds everything together in perfect unity. (Colossians 3:12-14)

 

Help me to love ________ for who he is and not for what he does. May my words and actions build ________'s character and not tear it down. Help me to dress myself each morning with your character, God. Thank you for loving me for who I am and not for what I do. Thank you for your grace and forgiveness towards me. Because of you, I can face my day with strength and joy. Praise you, Lord! In Jesus' name I pray. Amen. 


 

 

This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart, along with the 12 other mom writers in this series, is to raise up a growing army of moms (#MomArmy15) who Pray Like Their Kids Lives Depend On It. This series runs from Sept. 7-Oct. 2. Join the Mom Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com