One Final Chance To Get It Right

 

One Last Chance To Get It Right

By Billie Jauss

www.BillieJauss.com


For this child I have prayed, and now I am dumping him in the middle of New York City. My baby boy is going to college, and I am struggling! Since he is my third and last, the struggle came as a complete surprise.

 

The struggle started one week prior to him leaving when my husband and I sat down with him for our traditional “one final talk”. We had given this talk two times before with our other sons and it did not go well. We had a list of ways we thought our boys’ college social lives should go and we laid those ways out for them.  Their choices went in a much different direction than our list. Now here we were, ready to have the “final talk” with our final son. It was our final chance to get it right.

 

In my heartache over my older sons, God showed me this: my list was not my boys’ list, nor was it God’s list. The do’s and don’ts focused on our abilities, not on God’s ability through us.

 

My husband and I prayed before we sat down with our son, just as we had done before each son was conceived, during my pregnancies, when they were born, through their toddler years and the many years after. We gave our third son, our baby, to the Lord once again, but this time without the fear of him failing at the list of do’s and don’ts. A peace beyond all understanding washed over us.

 

Our youngest walked in the room with an attitude of ‘here comes the list’.  However, this time the list was different. It reflected our prayer for our son’s Godly character to be based on His ability and not on ours or our son’s lack of ability.

 

We began.

 

 

1. Strong character is from a capable God. Invest in your character by reading His Word. Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ.” Romans 10:17

 

2. Temptation will come, be prepared. Be prepared to stand on God’s promises.  On reaching the place, he said to them, “Pray that you will not fall into temptation.” Luke 22:40

 

3. Humble yourself. Don’t think or say you know things that you don’t. Learn from others. But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says: ‘God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble.’” James 4:6

 

4. Be you. God made you unique, and He knew what He was doing. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Psalm 139:13-14

 

 


·              5.  Live an immeasurable life. “Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us.” Ephesians 3:20

 

My hubby and I joined hands with our youngest son and began to pray. I held it together until it was my turn to pray. Tears rolled down my cheeks as God’s peace overwhelmed me. God’s got this!

 

Since that day, God has increased our confidence in His ability to guide and lead our son, rather than the sin of the world overwhelming him. We praise God for the man He is creating in our son, the strong character He continues to form. We worship the Lord here through tears and prayers.

 

Now #MomArmy15, let’s pray like our kid’s lives depend on it! You may use the scripture prayer below and insert your child’s name when you see a blank. Or feel free to use other scriptures God has placed on your heart. We would love it if you typed at least one sentence of your prayer in the comments section or left a comment that shares your heart with us. We love you!

 

Lord God, I pray for __________ as he steps onto his school campus today. I pray for ________’s faith and character to rise as he hears and reads your Word. (Romans 10:17) Prepare ________ for the temptation he will be confronted with today. Give him strength to stand on your promises. Lord, show favor to __________ as he remains humble before you. (James 4:6) Jesus, I thank you that __________ is wonderfully made. (Psalm 139) Lord do immeasurably more in ________’s life than he could ever ask or imagine. (Ephesians 3:20) In Jesus mighty name we pray.

 

This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart, along with the 12 other mom writers in this series, is to raise up a growing army of moms (#MomArmy15) who Pray Like Their Kids Lives Depend On It. This series runs from Sept. 7-Oct. 2. Join the Mom Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com