How To Protect Your Kids When You Are Absent


How To Protect Your Child When You Are Absent

by Stephanie K. Adams

www.StephanieKAdams.com

 

 

The hardest part of being a mother is letting go. No one told me letting go was a requirement when I was glowing from the pregnancy announcement of my first child. No one warned me as kindergarten began my daughter would release my hand and run with excitement into her new world. And no one could have prepared me for the moment I drove away from the college with the reflection of my son in the rearview mirror.

 

It doesn’t seem to matter what stage of motherhood I have been in, there were always moments that required me to let go of their hand and let them explore the world without me. And it is the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

 

Why is letting go so hard for us as mothers? Maybe because from the very beginning their entire little being was tucked safely close to our heart, the only source of protection, comfort, and love.

 

With each new experience in their lives, we feel the loss of the ability we have to control their environment, to make it safe, to ensure only good will influence them.

 

But can I be honest with you, dear mama? Sooner or later our kids will encounter harsh words, make a bad decision, or even get injured. 

 

Just recently I sent a text to one of my kids with this reminder, “Even if you stumble, God is with you”; only a few days later this same child literally missed a step and injured his ankle. From the look of the photos he texted me, it was pretty severe.

 

My heart was broken. Who was going to help mend him back to health? Who was going to comfort the pain? Who was going to wrap their arms around him to ease his injured pride?

 

Jesus gently nudged my spirit.

          

Do you trust Me?

 

“Yes, I trust you, Jesus. But…”

 

You keep praying; I’ve got this.

 

That wasn’t the answer I was hoping for.  I wanted a miracle healing, or at the very least the command to “go” and take care of him myself. 

 

But, God was asking me to trust His plan. He wanted to show up in the form of answers to my prayers.  And He did; there were no broken bones, no lost time out of classes, and the swelling and bruising disappeared quickly.

 

I may never know the ways my child learned to pray, trust God, and grow in faith as he saw mama’s prayers answered.

 

But that’s the point—our job as mom is to lift prayers to heaven and then trust Jesus to answer them in His way and His time.

 

There will be many circumstances where God answers our prayers with “Yes”, and protects our children from harm. And there will be a few times when He answers “I have a better way”, because He has a greater plan (Jeremiah 29:11)—to make them into the people He has purposed them to be.

 

Trials are not evidence of unanswered prayers, they just indicate His answer is different from ours (Isaiah 55:8-9).  However, God is always with them and will never forsake them (Deuteronomy 31:8).

 

When we can’t protect our children with our presence, we can partner with God and protect them with our prayers.

 

Now #MomArmy15, let’s pray like our kid’s lives depend on it! You may use the scripture prayer below and insert your child’s name when you see a blank. Or feel free to use other scriptures God has placed on your heart. We would love it if you typed at least one sentence of your prayer in the comments section or left a comment that shares your heart with us. We love you!

As a bonus, you can receive a free, printable version of “10 Scriptures to Pray for Your Child” here.

 

Lord, I ask you to watch over _____, keep Your hand of protection on _____ today as he/she is away from my presence (Psalm 33:18; 121:7-8).  I pray you will establish _____’s steps and give him/her safety (Psalm 37:23-24).  Place angels around _____ to protect him/her wherever he/she goes today (Psalm 34:7) and bring _____ to the place You have prepared for him/her (Exodus 23:20).  

 

Lord, when _____ is afraid, may he/she put his/her trust in you and not be afraid (Psalm 56:3-4). May _____ take refuge in You, because You deliver _____ from the wicked and save him/her (Psalm 37:40).

 

Lord, pour out Your Spirit upon _____, and Your blessing on his/her descendants (Isaiah 44:3).

 

Lord, bless _____ and keep him/her; make Your face shine upon _____ and be gracious to him/her; and lift up Your countenance upon _____ and give him/her peace (Numbers 6:24-26)

 

Father, help me to trust that when You take _____ through the tough times You are making him/her into what you purposed for his/her life (Jeremiah 29:11).  Help me to trust that Your plan is better than my plan (Isaiah 55:8-9), even when I can't see how You are moving and working.

 

May I trust in You with all my heart, and not lean on my own understanding, and trust that in all of _____’s ways he/she will acknowledge You and You will make straight _____’s path (Proverbs 3:5-6)  Amen.


This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart, along with the 12 other mom writers in this series, is to raise up a growing army of moms (#MomArmy15) who Pray Like Their Kids Lives Depend On It. This series runs from Sept. 7-Oct. 2. Join the Mom Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.


Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com