Lord, Please Guide Their Footsteps

 

Lord, Please Guide Their Footsteps

by Tracy Wilson

 Micro blog at: facebook.com/tracywilsonwrites

 

It’s like watching them walk a high wire, wobbling as they try to maintain their balance, each of them just one mis-step away from crashing down onto the rock hard surface of tragedy below. My friend, if you’re the parent or grandparent of a teenager, you know just what I mean. All of our young people are vulnerable in varying degrees. All of them are one bad decision from dying in a car accident, taking an experimental hit of a drug that will destroy them, or acting on the thought that life isn’t worth the stress, the sadness, the darkness of living. More things than ever bump and jostle them as they try to remain steady on a very narrow path.

 

I see it all around me. Within a twenty-four hour period, a wonderful Christian high school in my community lost three teenagers in varying ways. One took his own life. Another struck a student and faces criminal charges. The victim of the assault recovers from a serious head injury. All of them were from good families. All were taught to love God and one another. All lost their balance, reminding us that every teenager is vulnerable.

 

I had never been a worrier, despite working for years in TV news and seeing every single day the ways life can go wrong. But having a teenager changed that. I find myself wanting to lay safety nets under my son, but I know that would rob him of learning important lessons that will set him up for a fuller, more mature life. I tell myself to let go. Of him. Of worry that brings nothing good. And then I read and reread God’s words of reassurance:

 

“Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” (Matthew 6:27 NIV)

“When I am afraid I will put my trust in you.”(Psalm 56:3 NIV)

“Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”(John 14:27 NIV)

 

I close my eyes and lay all that worry at God’s feet, and ask Him to guide my teen and yours safely across the high wire, reminding myself that He will faithfully remain with us no matter what happens next. Giving my worries to God puts my trust right where it belongs and gives me a greater capacity to focus on loving my young man through the crossing instead of fretting about him.

 

Now #MomArmy15, let’s pray like our kid’s lives depend on it! You may use the scripture prayer below and insert your child’s name when you see a blank. Or feel free to use other scriptures God has placed on your heart. We would love it if you typed at least one sentence of your prayer in the comments section or left a comment that shares your heart with us. We love you! 

 

Heavenly Father, Maker of all good things, today I lift up to You the life and the choices of _________________. Please protect and guide him/her in Your ways, for You tell us you will make straight our paths. (Proverbs 3:6 NIV). May Your Holy Spirit guide him/her. Lead him/her in your truth and teach him/her, for you are the God of our salvation. (Psalm 25:4)

 

Lord, please ease each Mama’s worried heart. You reassure us, “The steps of man are established by the Lord when he delights in his way; though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong, for the Lord upholds his hand.”Help us to remember that our children are in Your hands, not ours. And help us to remind one another in tough times that You are our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. (Psalms 46:1)


 

 This post is part of a blog series hosted by Anna Frye, founder of Chosen And Crowned Ministries. Anna's heart, along with the 12 other mom writers in this series, is to raise up a growing army of moms (#MomArmy15) who Pray Like Their Kids Lives Depend On It. This series runs from Sept. 7-Oct. 2. Join the Mom Army and invite your friends at www.ChosenAndCrowned.com/blog.

 


Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com