Sometimes I Lose My Joy

Sometimes I Can't Find My Joy


"Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you." Psalm 25:5


   Sometimes I can’t find my joy. Circumstances cause it to disappear into the thick weeds of discouragement.  My mind tells me it’s in there somewhere, but my heart thinks it may be lost forever. So I call out to God and ask if joy will ever return to me.


    God so tenderly answered my question after I helped my kids through a mini crisis. “Mom!” they called out. “Our toad just disappeared into the weeds and we can’t find him anywhere! Do you think we will ever find him again?”


    I hurried outside to find my kids standing in front of a patch of weeds. Heads drooping and arms hanging helplessly at their sides, they were a sight for sore eyes.  “Is he lost forever?” they asked. I assured them he was not. My mothering instinct kicked in as I guided them through the steps necessary to find their pet.


    We said a quick prayer and asked God to help. Then we grabbed the garden clippers and began cutting through the thick weeds. As I hacked away, I stationed each of my kids in a different area and instructed them to keep their eyes wide open. “Watch for him!”


    Minutes passed that felt like hours and still no toad. My kids’ hope disappeared into the weeds just like their toad. “Don’t give up!” I said. “He’s in here somewhere.” Sure enough, after a little more searching, we found him.


   


Afterwards, God spoke to my heart and said, “Now go and search for your joy in the same way.” Here’s what I learned:


  • Pray and ask God to help you find your joy. This seems so obvious, yet how often do we forget and try to do it on our own.
  • Cut away the weeds. Discouragement, disappointment and hopelessness are like weeds that obstruct our view of God’s truths. When our eyes see only the details of our difficult circumstance, we can’t see the treasures hidden in God’s promises.
  •  Call a friend to help. A friend can help you dig through the weeds and remind you of God’s truths. Their friendship will strengthen you as you search.
  •  Determine that you will find it. Don’t give up! Joy will return to you!
  • Claim the joy that is yours. The truth is that no one and nothing has the ultimate power to steal your joy. It is yours because Jesus is yours. Often when I feel my joy trying to slip away, I shout out loud at my circumstance, “You’re not going to steal my joy!”

If weeds of discouragement have grown over your heart today, pray this scripture from Psalm 25:5, “God, lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you.” Let God’s truth be the clippers that cut away the weeds of discouragement. Put your hope in God’s promises and let them lead you! Keep your eyes wide open. Joy is right there ready for the taking. Reach out today and take hold of it!

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com