MAMA MONDAY: Celebrating Jesus Style

MAMA MONDAY: Celebrating Jesus Style


In last week’s post I shared with you one of my family’s very favorite Easter traditions: making Resurrection Rolls. Have you tried them yet? How did it go? Remember to post your pictures! I’d love to see them!


This week I want to share with you what has become our newest favorite Easter tradition:  Celebrating Jesus’ Passover or Seder meal with His disciples, also known as The Last Supper.


I will tell you straight up that there are many details we leave out of this beautiful Jewish remembrance meal. My goal is not to follow the ritual to the letter, but to create a fun family tradition that makes my kids say, “Can we do that again next year? That was awesome!”  


If you want to learn how it is authentically celebrated, I found this great website: http://www.chabad.org/kids/article_cdo/aid/1608/jewish/The-Seder-Plate.htm


For a very detailed introduction to a Christian Seder, visit: http://www.crivoice.org/seder.html


What is Passover?

Passover commemorates God’s deliverance of Israel from slavery in Egypt, sparing their first born through the sprinkling of a lamb’s blood on their doorposts. 


Why is it significant to us as Christians? 

It foreshadows the work of Christ on the cross – our ultimate Passover Lamb and reminds us of our Jewish heritage in the Christian faith. The Jews and Israel should be important to us. The Bible says that we should pray for them and that those who bless Israel will be blessed. Those who curse Israel will be cursed. 


Since my kids aren’t going to eat the traditional seder foods such as a roasted bone, horseradish root, and bitter herbs, we keep it simple by serving the following foods:


The Matza: A special bread that is prepared without yeast. In the Bible, yeast represented sin. At the Last Supper, Jesus, the sinless Passover Lamb, took the bread and gave thanks to God for it. Then He broke it in pieces and gave it to the disciples, saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me” (Luke 22:19).


Grape Juice: Represents the lamb’s blood that the Hebrews put on their doorposts. It signified to the Angle of Death that he should Passover their household, thus sparing the life of the family’s first born son. At the Last Supper, Jesus, who would soon pour out His blood to save His people, said to His disciples, “This cup is the new covenant between God and his people – an agreement confirmed with my blood, which is poured out as a sacrifice for you” (Luke 22:20).


We also add other foods that Jesus and His disciples would have eaten in their time. Foods such as hard boiled eggs and potatoes (which are seder foods), nuts, cheese, fruits and vegetables.


We eat by candle light since there would have been no electricity at the Last Supper. And I bring out my special dishes which tell my kids that this is a very special meal. My kids take turns reading the story in Luke 22:7-20. Your family can read more of the story if your kids are still paying attention! While the kids read, my husband breaks the bread and pours the “wine”. 


My advice is to keep this simple, fun and interactive with the kids. PLEASE take some pictures of your Last Supper! I’d love to see your interpretation!


If today's post touched your heart, please like it and share it on your favorite social media! To find more resources from Anna or to learn more about Chosen and Crowned Ministries, visit ChosenandCrowned.com

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com