WIFEY WEDNESDAY: Falling Off The Date Night Band Wagon

WIFEY WEDNESDAY: Falling Off The Date Night Band Wagon


My husband and I have fallen off the date night band wagon again. We were doing so well this past winter too. We walked around downtown and soaked in the romance of the city all dressed up in Christmas lights and festivities. We toured a botanical garden where exotic plants and whispering water falls allowed us to escape from the wintery gray Pennsylvania landscape. We even got away for a weekend to celebrate our seventeenth wedding anniversary. It was wonderful. It helped me understand the statistic which reports that 92% of couples who go on regular dates report feeling more satisfied in their relationship.


But what about the other eight percent? For the first time I’m thinking about them. Why? Is it because my hubby and I are eating wagon dust again as we watch the ninety-two percent ride off into the sunset? Probably. Am I envious and longing for a romantic date night with my husband? Most likely.


So what are the small but mighty eight percent doing to raise the satisfaction level in their marriage? I have some thoughts on this. I’d love to know if you agree. Could it be that they are making the most of everyday life together? When the alarm clock blares and the baby is crying, instead of hitting the ground running, maybe they pause to say “Good morning” and exchange a quick glace to say “I love you.” Maybe one of them even heats up some water for the other’s morning tea while the kids are terrorizing, I mean joyously running about the house.


Maybe they take a moment out of their busy day to exchange some sweet texts. Do they hold hands at their son’s baseball game or their daughter’s dance recital? My guess is yes. I bet they make a point to eat dinner together as a family and turn off the distractions of television and social media as well. 


I bet the eight percent of couples who report feeling satisfied in their marriage without lots of date nights are masters in the art of maximizing life’s moments. I don’t know for sure. These are just my thoughts as the sun sets on another day of being married to this amazing man I call husband. Dear husband, let’s not miss the opportunities that are right in front of us because we are chasing the date night band wagon. Yes, I still want to go on fun, creative dates with you. And we really do need to get one on the calendar by the way. And soon! But I want to make the most of this crazy thing called life with you, too. Yes, we’ve made some pretty stinkin’ cute kids together. But let’s not allow them to steal every moment from us. After all, it only takes a moment to give me a kiss or squeeze my hand. It only takes a moment to send a text or say I love you. I will try to remember that it only takes a moment for me to do these things for you too. 


The Bible says we will reap what we plant. So let's plant some seeds of good in the wagon dust. Let’s maximize the moments. For at just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up. Therefore, whenever we have the opportunity, we should do good. (Ephesians 7, 9-10).


If today’s post blessed you, you can pass on the blessing by sharing it with a friend or on social media! By doing so, you spread the impact of God’s Word and the ministry of Chosen and Crowned Ministries. Thank you!


Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com