WIFEY WEDNESDAY: Calm His Anxious Heart

WIFEY WEDNESDAY: Calm His Anxious Heart


My husband was headed out of town on a rare business trip and his heart was just an anxious mess over the whole thing. The night before leaving, he busied himself with preparations. He hauled enough logs to the porch so the kids and I could keep a nice fire going while he was away. He carefully folded his shirts and packed them in his suitcase. Then he took the shirts out, refolded them and nestled them back into place. He checked his travel arrangements. Then checked them again. He set his alarm clock. Then checked it again. He reminded me that clocks would be springing forward and could I please change his clock while he was gone. He reminded me that all I had to do was push the button on top and it would move the time one hour. Seriously. 


Dude, take a breath! He must have read my mind because he plopped down on the edge of the bed and said, “I am very unsettled right now.” 


I longed to calm my husband’s anxious heart, but so many times I feel like my words fall flat on him. We are so different. And I talk A LOT. So sometimes my constant chatter becomes white noise to him. I know…it’s hard to imagine. 


As we climbed into bed, I silently prayed, “Lord, give me the words to say.” I felt God tell me to simply pray out loud for my husband.  I grabbed my husband's                                                                                                                                 hand and gently said, “Let me pray for you and for your trip.” 


As I prayed, God gave me the life-giving words my husband needed to hear: 


“Lord, thank you that you are always with my husband. Thank you for how much you love him. Your Word says to not be anxious about anything but to pray about everything. Then your peace that passes all understanding will be ours. Lord, let your peace flood my husband’s heart. Calm him with your presence and the knowledge that you have all this under your control.


God, thank you that you hold the details of his trip in your hands. May a good purpose come out of it. Thank you that you hold all things together and you are working everything for the good of those who love you. Let my husband lie down and sleep in peace. Amen.” 


Before I said amen, I could feel that my husband was already asleep. My prayers have a way of doing that to him. It's hard to imagine...I know. I let my head sink deeper in my pillow and thanked God for the gift of prayer and the gift of life-giving words.


Wifey friend, your husband faces pressures every day that cause his heart to be anxious. Pressures at work. Pressure to be a good provider. A good husband. A good dad. When your best efforts to comfort him fall flat, remember to pray God’s words over him! 

There are no better, kinder, more life-giving words to say than those that come from God. A praying wife is her husband’s crown. “An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up” (Proverbs 12:25).


If today's post touched your heart, please like it and share it on your favorite social media! To find more resources from Anna or to learn more about Chosen and Crowned Ministries, visit ChosenandCrowned.com

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com