WIFEY WEDNESDAY: We Were Late For Church And It Was My Fault

 

 WIFEY WEDNESDAY: Late For Church And It Was My Fault


We were “late” for church and it was my fault. Arriving “on time”, in my husband’s mind, means arriving at our destination at least ten minutes early. As the five of us fastened our seat belts, we knew we better hang on for dear life. Onlookers watched as our silver speeding bullet blew past them. Salty slush from our tires sprayed into the air. 


In the past, this familiar scene caused careless words to spew from my mouth. Words like, “Hey crazy man! Are you trying to kill us all?” That seemed to only taunt the beast, so I sat quietly, white-knuckled fingers gripping the door handle and lifted up a quiet prayer to God for His protection. 


Then came the sweet, soft voice of my 7-year-old daughter from the back seat.


“Daddy? I have three things for you. First, I love you. Second, can you please slow down. And third, I love you.”


Wow. The wisdom and content of my daughter’s simple words and delivery astounded me.


The Bible says, “A gentle answer turns away wrath. But a harsh word stirs up anger. The tongue of the wise makes knowledge acceptable, but the mouth of fools spouts folly” (Proverbs 15:1-2).


Her gentle answer immediately cut the tension in the car. Wifey friend, it took me many years to learn that gentleness and carefully chosen words are like water to a husband’s fiery heart. When your husband does something to offend your senses, take a deep breath. Ask God for wisdom. Then dip your words in love and grace before gently speaking them out of your mouth. When you do, you will be astounded at the peace it brings not only to your husband’s heart, but to yours as well.


If today's post touched your heart, please like it and share it on your favorite social media! To find more resources from Anna or to learn more about Chosen and Crowned Ministries, visit ChosenandCrowned.com

 

 

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com