MAMA MONDAY: Dying to Self

Hey mamas! I have an encouraging word that I just have to share with you! But first, you need to know that my life verse for this year is Matthew 10: 38-39, “If you refuse to take up your cross and follow me, you are not worthy of being mine. If you cling to your life, you will lose it; but if you give up your life for me, you will find it.” This verse leads me to some soul-searching questions such as: How do I take up my cross and follow Christ? What does it look like to cling to my life? What does it look like to give up my life for Christ?


Here’s the huge truth God laid on my heart today: When you and I embrace motherhood as a mission from God to raise up our children to be followers of Jesus Christ, we will experience what it means to “lose our life so that we (and our children) will find it”.


I sometimes struggle in my mission as a mom because it can feel so unimportant. My kids aren’t going to roll out a red carpet for me and applaud my impressive laundry folding skills or delicious meal making. There will be no bonus check for my overtime hours or paid vacation days to get that much needed “me” time. But Jesus said that “the greatest among you should take the lowest rank, and the leader should be like a servant. Who is more important, the one who sits at the table or the one who serves? The one who sits at the table, of course. But not here! For I am among you as one who serves” (Luke 22:26-27). 


Jesus was a servant leader. He left his high position to become a servant. Maybe you left a great job to stay home and raise your kids. All of us have left a position of “self first” to sacrificially serve our children. You are a servant leader. As moms on mission from God, we are carrying on the life of Christ. Listen to what Bible teacher, Jen Hatmaker, has to say about this:


“Carrying on the life of Christ is integrated with the concept of death. There is a death/life rhythm that sustains creation. Much like a seed is destroyed to produce a living tree, or a vegetable is plucked from its vine to nourish a living body, self-sacrifice is hardwired into the mission of a believer. It’s paradoxical, but it fits into the economy of God. Think about it – it’s only through death that we see life. It’s only through weakness that we see strength. It’s only through meekness that we see power.”

My friend, the truth that you are carrying on the life of Christ as a mom on mission will breathe life into you as you give yourself up for your family.  Did you know that when you become a living sacrifice that you are worshipping God? Romans 12:1 says, “Dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice – the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him.”


Sweet friend, when you are weary and worn, and all your days run together because they feel so ordinary, remember this: Yours is a high calling. A mission from God. The sacrifices you make day in and day out are extraordinary. You are so precious to God. He is applauding you from heaven this very minute and will one day roll out the red carpet for you. He even has a royal gown ready for you!  Now that’s something fun to think about! Keep up the great work, my friend, and I’ll see you at the royal fashion show!


If today’s post blessed you, you can pass on the blessing by sharing it with a friend! By doing so, you spread the impact of God’s Word and the ministry of Chosen and Crowned Ministries. Thank you!

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com