WIFEY WEDNESDAY: A Goal Like No Other

Hey wifey friend! How are you holding up during this crazy, busy, wonderful time of year? I know that your days are wrapped around Christmas preparation, but could I ask you to store a thought on the back burner of your mind for the next few weeks? Here’s my thought/question for you:


What goal will you make for your marriage in the new year?


Start praying about it now. God has a will and a plan for your marriage this coming year. Ask Him to “fill you with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so that you will walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, to please Him in all respects, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God” (Col. 1:9-10).


I love this scripture because it contains four goals I have for my marriage. I want my husband and I to:

1. Walk in a manner worthy of the Lord.

2. Please Him in all respects.

3. Bear fruit in every good work.

4. Increase in our knowledge of God.

 

So how do I plan to work toward these goals? God has laid an over-arching goal and challenge on my heart that will powerfully move my husband and I toward achieving these four goals and many more. Here it is: Pray together.

 

If your heart just sank into your belly and you felt your face cringe, you are not alone! Most couples report feeling nervous, uncomfortable and clueless when it comes to praying with their spouse, my husband and I included. Yet it is a goal every Christian couple should have at the top of their list. Here are just a few reasons why:

 

1. Praying with your spouse exponentially increases the power of the prayers you have for yourself, your spouse, your children and all other aspects of your life together.

 

2. Praying together connects you to your spouse spiritually and emotionally. There is something so powerful about hearing your husband express his heart. Even if at first, it is only a few words, it is a peek into the heart of your husband.

 

3. Praying together helps unify you and your husband. It is no longer your will or his will that is sought, but God’s will that will become both you and your husband’s ultimate heart’s desire.

 

4. Prayer invites God into your marriage. Stormie Omartian, author of The Power of Praying Together says, "All marriages have problems because they are made up of two imperfect people. But if you add the presence of a perfect God, then you have unlimited possibilities for drawing closer to what God intended for marriage. Whether that happens is determined by how frequently and how fervently God is invited into your relationship. The more you pray together, the more you will see God do great things.


I want to see God do great things in and through my marriage. I believe you do to, wifey friend! So would you prayerfully consider making your New Year's goal one that includes praying with your spouse? We'll take baby steps together. I'll keep researching and writing about this topic so we can keep our goal fresh and alive. Let's hold each other accountable. Maybe we can even get a conversation thread going on each Wifey Wednesday facebook post to share thoughts, encouragement, questions, and challenges. Maybe even share this post with your husband! I am confident that with God's help, we can achieve the goal of praying regularly with our spouse!


If today's post blessed and challenged you, please share it with a friend or on social media. By doing so, you help spread the truths of God's Word and the impact of Chosen and Crowned Ministries. Thank you!



Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com