WIFEY WEDNESDAY: To My Husband

To my husband,


Do you remember when we said, “I do.”? We were two kids in love, ready to take on the world. With eyes locked on one another and my hand in yours, we promised to love and cherish each other until death parts us.  We kissed. We dreamed. We became husband and wife. One flesh. 


“And the two shall become one flesh” (Mark 10:8).


It has been quite the adventure becoming “one flesh” with you, my dear husband.  I watched our children play with play dough the other day. Their hands mushed and pressed that dough and then mushed it some more. Within minutes a new creation appeared.  It made me think of you and me, two pieces of dough in the hands of a Creator God. He has mushed and pressed us. It hasn’t always been pretty or felt good. And it hasn't come quickly. But with His great love and tender mercy, a new life has appeared. In His time, He has made our life together beautiful.


Dear husband, promise me this: that we won’t miss the beautiful in the chaos. Promise me that we won’t get too busy to look into each other’s eyes and say “I love you”. And as we hold our children’s hands, let’s not forget to hold each other’s.  


Promise me that you’ll laugh and dream with me. And when I’m not so fun to be with, give me grace and forgiveness. Remember that I am only a piece of dough. Sometimes I will need you to be my strength and sometimes you will need me to be yours.  


God is still shaping and molding us to be like Him. Let’s promise to pray for each other and pray together because our “happily ever after” is found only in our Creator. Did you know that when I talk to Him, He whispers His dreams to me about us. He tells me that I can’t even conceive what He has planned (2 Corin. 2:9). What things do you dream for us, my sweet husband? Let’s whisper them to God. He told me that He will do immeasurably more than all we could ask or imagine (Eph. 3:20).


I love being pressed and mushed together with you. We aren’t kids anymore, but I still think we can take on the world. Will you put your hand in mine and tell me again “I do.”? Because, husband, I do promise to love and cherish you till death do us part. 


Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com