Wifey Wednesday: The Power of Choice

The power of choice. Think about the words, actions and attitudes you choose when it comes to your husband and marriage. Do they reflect a woman who is choosing to impact her marriage in a positive way?


For many years my pride got in the way of me choosing to move my marriage in a positive direction. It felt better to hold that grudge or make that smart comment. It satisfied my offended heart to complain about my husband to anyone who would listen.


My pride caused me to miss out on many opportunities to move my marriage in a positive direction. Even in the midst of challenges or disappointments, I had the CHOICE to keep us stuck in the pit or start building a ladder to help us climb out. To this day, even after 16 years of marriage, I still have to CHOOSE my words, actions and attitudes carefully. And when I find myself back in a pit of discouragement and despair, I have to sit myself down and give myself a good talkin' to! God has given me the power of choice, and I (and my marriage) will suffer or benefit from the choices I make. 


Does your marriage feel stuck in a pit of disappointment today? Are you discouraged? Is your pride getting in the way of positive change? Here are two verses for you. One of them brought conviction to my heart; the other brought hope.


"Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others. Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus" (Phil. 2:3-5).


"May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit" (Rom. 15:13).

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com