May Devotional: Waiting on God

Scripture
Wait with hope for the LORD. Be strong, and let your heart be courageous. Yes, wait with hope for the LORD. Psalm 27:8, 13-14 (GW)


Application

Have you ever noticed how much time is spent waiting? We wait for our daughter's dance lesson to finish or for our son's baseball practice to end. We wait in the doctor's office, at red lights, for water to boil, for the bus to come. We wait!

I'm pretty good at waiting in those situations because there is a definite ending time and I can easily find a productive way to pass those minutes. 

I find it much more difficult to wait on God. Why? 
1. His timing is usually much slower than mine.
2. I can't always see what He's up to while I wait. He prefers to work behind the scene.
3. The amount of time I have to wait is unknown, causing me to surrender my pride and my need to control a situation.
4. My heart is usually deeply involved and affected while I wait causing my emotions to mess with my ability to see the situation clearly.

This past month for me has been an exercise in waiting. I call it exercise because I discovered that waiting on God requires some training in order to do it effectively. Apparently, my waiting muscles are extremely weak and underused. I needed some training. My husband says my inability to wait with grace is a product of me growing up as the baby in the family and being mommy's little girl. I think "spoiled brat" were the exact words that came out of his mouth! Gasp! I don't know where he'd get that idea. Maybe it was from the day recently when I plunked my forehead against his chest and with great discouragement said, "You know it really is a tragedy that the whole world doesn't revolve around me."

Ever been there? Okay, maybe you've never been as pathetic as me, but I'm sure you've faced circumstances that required you to wait an indefinite amount of time before seeing God move in your situation. You've found yourself asking, "How much longer God?". 

So friend, how do we graciously and victoriously wait on the Lord? The Bible gives us some great instruction:


Wait With Great Expectation
In Habakkuk 1:5, the Lord said, "Look around at the nations; look and be amazed! For I am doing something in your own day, something you wouldn't believe even if someone told you about it." Friend, God is always at work on your behalf. Always. He is working situations, people and timing to bring forth His greatest provision for you. Pastor Daniel Darling says, "Often when it seems nothing is happening is when everything is happening behind the scenes. You just can't see it." Wait expectantly on the Lord. Exercise unshakeable faith for "faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see" (Heb. 11:1).  Your breakthrough is on its way!

Hold On To God's Promises
Romans 4:18-21 tells us that against all hope, Abraham in hope believed...without weakening in his faith, he faced the facts (which didn't look good). Yet, he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had the power to do what He had promised. Friend, the Bible is full of God's promises for you. When discouragement and despair come calling, drown out their voices with God's voice. Speak His truth out loud. Pray His promises over your situation. Thank Him for His faithfulness to you in the past. He loves you with an extravagant love. "He longs to be gracious to you. He rises to show you compassion. For the LORD is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!" (Is. 30:18).

Be A Blessing
While you wait, look for ways to bless those around you. When you get your mind off of your own circumstance and onto others' needs, it helps you to not get consumed in your own world of need. Just think, by being a blessing you can help a brother or sister in Christ persevere in their faith. 

Seek God's Face
More than anything else, seek God's face. God desires an intimate relationship with you. Let your difficult circumstance draw you into His loving presence. David, the psalmist and king of Israel, prayed, "Hear, O LORD, when I cry aloud; be gracious to me and answer me! You have said, 'Seek my face.' My heart says to you, 'Your face, LORD, do I seek.' I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living! Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!" (Psalm 27:7-8, 13-14, ESV). Only in God's presence will you find renewed hope, peace, and strength. When you seek God's face, you will experience His love for you. His love will calm you and give you rest.

Sweet friend, your waiting is only for a season. Surround yourself with people who will pray for you while you wait and who will encourage you with God's Word. Hold onto the promise that God acts on behalf of those who wait for Him (Is. 64:4). Therefore, wait with hope for the LORD. Be strong and let your heart be courageous. Yes, wait with hope for the LORD (Ps. 27:12-14)!

Prayer
Lord, help me to be strong while I wait on You. I know that You are working behind the scenes on my behalf and so I trust completely in Your authority. I surrender all control to You. Teach me Your ways, Lord, and lead me on a level path (Ps. 27:11). Thank you for how You love me. Amen!

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com