Tragedy at Franklin Regional High School

My heart continues to ache this morning over the tragic events that took place yesterday in my community. Around 7:45 am on Wednesday, April 9, I received this urgent text: 

 

Multiple stabbings at Franklin Regional High School.  Police are on the scene.  One suspect is in custody. Please pray!!!

 

My heart sunk into my stomach and I fought back tears as I finished packing my kids lunches and took them to their bus stop. This wasn’t their school that would make national news just a short time later. But it was the school district of so many of our friends. As my kid’s bus pulled to a stop, I could barely let go of them. I cupped their sweet faces in my hands and kissed their precious little cheeks before sending them on their way, “Have a great day, baby! Love you!”

 

“I will, Mom! Love you!” And off they went with no fear; no heaviness of heart.

 

I headed back home, turned on the local news and stood in shock as I watched the storm unleash its fury over the community I so dearly love.

 

Oh God! Come to their rescue!  I crumbled to the floor and tears soaked the carpet as I cried out with urgent prayers. I searched for the right words to pray. I opened my Bible hoping it would help form my prayers. But all the words I could find seemed to fall flat. 

 

Tragedy has a way of breaking us in so many pieces that we find ourselves feeling utterly helpless. All I knew to do was cling to my Rock:

 

“I love you, O LORD, my strength.  The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.  I call to the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies. In my distress I called to the LORD; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears” (Psalm 18:1-3).

 

As the number of victims continued to climb and the news came out that the stabbings were done by a 16-year-old boy, my tears of sadness turned to tears of anger at the enemy of our souls.

 

“Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour” (1 Peter 5:8).

 

Satan had attacked the community I love. He attacked the community that God loves.

 

Satan hates God, so he goes after the ones God loves. Satan used a 16-year-old boy to unleash such an evil act that it would cause fear and panic to grip the hearts of thousands of students and parents. Satan knows that if he can cause fear and panic, it shakes people’s faith, causing them to question God’s goodness, holiness and love. We forget that here on earth, we have an enemy who hates us and will stop at nothing to destroy us.

 

Christian warriors, we must rise up and stand firm in our faith!  Our God is still on the throne! The final victory is ours because Jesus has conquered death! We must humble ourselves under God’s mighty hand that He may lift us up in due time. Though we suffer for a little while, the God of all grace has called us to His eternal glory in Christ Jesus. He will Himself restore us and make us strong, firm and steadfast. To God be the power for ever and ever. Amen! (1 Peter 5:6,10-11). 

 

You may feel like me today, a little anxious to send your kids back to school, a little anxious about what the future holds; a little anxious over so many questions that remain unanswered. But the Bible wisely instructs us to cast all our anxieties on Him because He cares for us (1 Peter 5:7).

 

Sweet friend, will you lock arms with me today and stand firm in your faith? Let’s lift up our chins and fix our eyes on the One who thunders from heaven against our enemy. Let us humble ourselves under His mighty hand and continue to cry out for all those affected by this terrible act of evil against our children. Satan can’t have them. Our God is greater. Our God is stronger. Vengeance is His. God will bring beauty from these ashes. He will bind up the brokenhearted and comfort all who mourn. God will rebuild and restore what has been devastated. If we, as the community of Franklin Regional High School will cry out to God, we will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of His splendor. Everlasting joy will be ours (Isaiah 61). 

 

Praise His holy name!

 

Thank you for reading my blog!  I always want to bring hope and encouragement to you by using God's Word. If it blessed you or you think it will bless someone you know, please share it and pass on the power that comes only from reading God's precious word. Love you!

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com