Moms, Storms, and God

Moms can tell when a storm is brewing, so when the alarm sounds in the middle of the night, she is ready to take action.  

 

Yesterday afternoon, I sensed a storm was brewing.  My daugther stepped off the bus with her shoulders slumped over and a face sad enough to soften the hardest heart.  Her head hurt; her tummy hurt and she crawled into bed as soon as she got in the house.  As I crawled into bed later last night, I knew the storm was close.

 

The alarm sounded for me early this morning -- the sound of my daughter throwing up.  If you are a mom, you too, are familiar with the alarm.  It wakes you from the deepest sleep, crying out with urgent sounds that demand you to come immediately.  By the way, why is it that husbands are deaf to this alarm?

 

I digress.

 

As the alarm quickly awakened all my senses, I climbed out of bed, threw my robe around my shoulders and ran to help my little girl. Her shoulders quaked and her tears fell easily onto my hands that held her. After cleaning her up, I made a cozy bed for her on the couch, snuggled her favorite stuffed animal under her arm and sat at her feet while holding an ice pack on her feverish back.  Soon enough, she dozed off to sleep.  I couldn't help but remain by her side and stare at her sweet face.  I thought to myself what amazing love a mother feels towards her child.  But my thought quickly drifted to another:

 

What amazing love my heavenly Father feels for me.

 

He knows when a storm is brewing in my life long before it rocks my world. When my cry reaches his heart in the middle of the night, he hears and rushes with urgency to my side.  The Bible says he never slumbers nor sleeps. Instead he watches over me, never removing me from his loving gaze. He is my ever-present help in time of trouble.  

 

I wonder if you are facing a storm right now that, like my daughter, makes your shoulders quake and tears fall from your eyes?  Have you cried out to your heavenly Father?  He longs to rush to your rescue, comfort you and catch your tears in his hands.  He will caress your sweet face and cause you to sleep in peace. As he comforts you, he will think to himself, "Oh, how I love her."

 

Friend, you can trust him with the storm and the pain it's causing your heart. He is so gentle and will restore you to fullness of joy.  

 

It's still the middle of the night as I write this.  My daughter lifts her weary head off her pillow and looks my way, "Don't go anywhere, Mama.  Stay close to me."

 

"I'm right her, my sweet girl.  I'm right here.  Now close your eyes and rest."

 

Sweet friend, whatever the storm you're facing, do not fear.  Your Father is with you right this moment.  Do not be dismayed, for your Father is God. He will strengthen you and help you.  He will uphold you with his righteous right hand (Is. 41:10).  He will never leave you nor forsake you (Deut. 31:6).

 

Love you, friend, but Jesus loves you more.

 

Thank you for reading my post.  If it blessed you, you can easily share it with your facebook friends by simply clicking on the facebook button above. 

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Heather (Tuesday, 14 January 2014 10:35)

    Thank you! You brought me to my knees in prayers!

  • #2

    Brooke (Tuesday, 04 February 2014 18:25)

    Anna, I adore how you take the everyday triumphs and strife that could easily go by unnoticed and turn it back on our Father's amazing love for us. I love your blog!

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com