My Encounter with a Persecuted Hero of the Faith

POP!  If bubbles had layers then a layer from the one I live in just burst.  I say "layer" because I know there are many more layers protecting this naive and safe American heart of mine.  Have you ever had an interaction with someone whose story shook you to the core and sliced through your "what-a-wonderful-world" attitude?  That's what happened to me a few days ago when I sat down to interview 36-year-old Pastor Majed El Shafie, who was imprisoned and tortured for his faith when he was only 20 years old.

 

Burned.  Hung upside down for days.  Submersed repeatedly and alternately between ice cold and steaming hot water.  Stripped naked and beaten.  Sliced to the bone with a knife. Forced to listen to women being raped and beaten in an adjacent cell.  The screams and cries still give him nightmares.

 

Persecution.  This word escapes through my lips with ease because I cannot fully grasp the horrific weight its reality carries.  I don't even like to think about it or write about it because it brings fear to my heart. Isn't it just like me, as an American writer, to only want to focus on favor, prosperity and abundance.  I like to write about things that will make you smile and encourage you as you go about your blessed day.  But the problem is that remaining quiet and unmoved makes me part of the problem of persecution instead of being involved in the solution.  Turning myself away from the burdens of my persecuted brothers and sisters in Christ is not what God desires for me.

 

As my eyes meet the eyes of Pastor Majed, a man my same age yet so different from me in courage and faith, he tells me, "It is an honor to be persecuted.  My scars are scars of honor.  Jesus suffered and died for me and I will suffer and die for him.  I would go through the torture again if I had to.  I am not afraid.  'Tough' is my middle name."

 

I lean in and ask him, "How do you speak to the fear that Americans feel when they hear about persecution?"  

 

In a voice that echos the words of my precious Savior, he responds, "There is nothing to be afraid of.  God is with you."  

 

On my drive home from the interview, I prayed, "Oh God, increase my faith! Give me the courage and boldness to stand for You, even in the face of my enemies.  Make "Tough" be my middle name.  Show me more of who You are and teach me to trust You with all of my heart.  You are my Shield and my Comfort."

 

Remember the bubble layer that burst and exposed some of my heart?  I don't want that layer to grow back. So what can those of us on American soil do about the problem of persecution?

 

Pastor Majed asks us to pray daily for our persecuted brothers and sisters in Christ.  He also requested prayers for him and his organization, "One Free World," which fights for those who are persecuted.  One Free World has rescued 500 men, women, children and families since it was founded a decade ago.  They are "a voice for the voiceless to ensure that justice will prevail and the dream of a world where all are free and equal would be realized" (onefreeworldinternational.org).

 

Finally, he encouraged us to keep the name of Jesus in our conversations with our kids and with others and to not surrender to the "political correctness" that is threatening our freedoms of speech and religion here in America.  

 

We are so blessed and free, dear American sister.  I will proudly and boldly declare the name of Christ Jesus:

 

Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.  And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death -- even death on a cross!  Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father (Phil. 2:6-11).  Amen!

 

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog!  Please share it with your facebook friends and "Like" my facebook page to receive updates on my ministry.  

https://www.facebook.com/AnnaFryeInspirationalSpeaker

 

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Trish (Monday, 25 November 2013 18:53)

    I want to be more like him.........Instead I recoil.......Praying God makes me stronger and grows my faith.....

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com