5 Tips for Making the Most Out of Waiting in Line

I may have set a world record today: a record for standing in the shortest grocery line ever for the longest amount of time ever.  Yes, it took a full 40 minutes to check out with only two people and several items in front of me.

 

 

When it finally came time for the lady in front of me to check out and the cashier charged her for 69 avocados, instead of  69 cents for one avocado, she sympathetically said to me, "You win the prize today."  After waiting another 10 minutes for the manager to unsuccessfully fix the avocado error, they finally moved me to a new line where I had to wait my turn again.

 

Now a person who finds herself in this sort of situation has a few options for how she is going to behave.  I caught myself giving the stare down. You know what I'm talking about.  I rested my elbows on my tower of groceries and glared at the offending situation in front of me.  Just short of letting out a few heavy sighs, I remembered whose daughter I am.  And I remembered the words of Col. 3:8,12, "You must rid yourself of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips.  As God's chosen daughter, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourself with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience."  I also thought of the scripture that tells me to be wise in the way I act towards outsiders.  I am to make the most of every opportunity.

 

Make the most of every opportunity.  How does one make the most out of waiting in line forever?  

 

Since I had a lot of time to think, I bring you now my list of 5 Tips for Making the Most Out of Waiting in Line at the Grocery Store:    

 

1.  When the cashier apologizes, instead of calling her an idiot, smile and say, "That's ok.  No problem.  Computers can be such a pain to work with sometimes."

 

2.  When the woman with one avocado gets charged for 69, instead of sighing loudly, make light of the situation by reminding her of all the health benefits and tasty recipes for avocados.  Tell her you'll be happy to run to the produce section and bag up 68 more.

 

3.  When the manager can't even fix the computer error, instead of tapping your keys violently on the cart handle, pick up one of the tabloids and pray for the celebrities in the headlines.  Did you know Kim Kardashian's baby is the most spoiled baby in the world?  There's a shocker.

 

4.  When the manager closes the lane you've been standing in for 30 minutes and asks you to move to the next wait line, instead of throwing tomatoes at her, pick up a magazine on the rack and check out some new recipes or DIY projects.  I read some tips for dying my hair at home and had fun drooling over all the pumpkin recipes that are now in season.  Yay for fall!

 

5.  Finally, when the second cashier can't figure out how to ring up the three avocados in your cart, instead of cursing avocados, consider just setting the avocados aside and try again at your next visit.  You never know, maybe that batch of avocados has dangerous bacteria growing on it and God is just trying to protect you from food poisoning.

 

Whatever you do, choose a positive perspective.  There are bigger problems in life.  You have the opportunity to bring honor to your Father by choosing words, sounds and actions that are full of His love and grace. On the contrary, choosing to act out in anger or impatience does nothing to bring God glory.  Think about how embarrassed you are when your children throw a temper tantrum in the grocery store.  Don't embarrass God.  Do as the Bible says and conduct yourself in a manner worthy of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

 

I'd love to know what you do to keep your composure in the grocery line. I'm sure this won't be the last time I find myself waiting in line, so please pass on your tips!

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Kami (Friday, 13 September 2013 10:02)

    I like the part about not throwing a temper tantrum and embarrassing God. Good reminder. My only tip would be thanking God you didn't have your kids with you!! :)

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com