When Your Happiness Takes a Hit

In my efforts to always be real with you, I need to tell you that for the past month or so, my happy disposition has taken a significant hit.  I had a good friend tell me she couldn’t believe I ever struggled with feeling down, but with the combination of hormone imbalances, a low thyroid and snow in April, it was about enough to beat the joy right out of me.  Even my poor husband has been a little afraid to hang out with me because he’s not sure if I’ll be happy to see him or ready to kill him.  Can anyone relate?


I came face to face with what I really believe and “practicing what I preach.”  If you’ve heard me speak or read my blog, you know I am passionate about the power of speaking and praying God’s Word out loud. Truth needs to ring louder in our ears than the steady stream of deceitful lies that Satan whispers when we’re down in the dumps.  We need to have control over our emotions, instead of allowing our emotions to control us.  We get to choose the marinade that seasons our heart.  I choose to meditate on who I am in Christ!  I’d like to share with you a few scriptures that have been a delicious marinade to my soul.  I typed them up, made three copies and put them in places where I could read it all through out my day.  I spoke them out loud as often as possible (I think my family is getting used to me talking to myself!).


Before I show you the beautiful words of God, I also want to mention that I make other intentional decisions that nourish me, not just spiritually, but also physically and emotionally.  Sweet friend, we must take better care of ourselves!  You are the temple of the Holy Spirit!  Your physical and emotional health has a huge impact on your spiritual health.  


I choose to eat healthy foods, even though a bowl of moose tracks ice cream with hot fudge and whipped cream sounds like the perfect dinner!  I also force myself to exercise a few times a week, even though I would prefer a nap.  I spend time being still, breathing in a cool breeze and thanking God for his unfailing love.  I try to get enough sleep...although that has proven to be tricky with three kids who always seem to end up in my room at least once during the night! 


God has given every one of us self-discipline.  The more we exercise it, the stronger it will become.  And, don’t forget the power of girlfriends!  Ask a godly friend to set goals with you and then keep each other accountable as you build yourself into the strong woman of God that you were created to be! Ok, here are the delicious words I promised you!  Eat them up!


Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.  For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.  In love he predestined us to be adopted as his (daughters) through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will - to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves.  In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding (Ephesians 1:3-8, emphasis mine). 

 
Because of Jesus and God’s great love for you:

-You have been given EVERY spiritual blessing.

-You have been chosen by God.

-You are holy and blameless in his sight.

-You were predestined to be God’s daughter.

-You have FREELY been given God’s grace.  It is LAVISHED on you.

-You are redeemed and forgiven.

-This is all in accordance with God’s pleasure, his will, his rich grace, and his perfect wisdom and understanding.


(Jesus said) You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit – fruit that will last (John 15:16, emphasis mine).It is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples (John 15:8, emphasis mine).


-You did not choose Jesus, but Jesus chose you.

-He assigned you to GO and bear fruit that lasts.

-It is to God’s glory that you bear MUCH fruit.

-According to this scripture, you can be sure that God chose YOU and desires for your life to bear MUCH fruit that will LAST. 

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place,When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body.All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.How precious to me are your thoughts, O God   How vast is the sum of them (Psalm 139:13-17, emphasis mine)


My friend, Jesus is the lifter of your head!  He is your rock!  He is the same yesterday, today and forever!  Cling to him and he will sustain you.  Have a beautiful day!

 

Did this post bless you?  Please share it with a friend!

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Kami (Wednesday, 10 April 2013 18:25)

    Great post Anna! I love the Powerful scriptures you picked. Thanks for keeping it real!! Love ya!

  • #2

    Robyn (Thursday, 11 April 2013 09:03)

    Wonderful reminders, Anna. I agree that meditating on who we are in Christ is the powerful truth that can change our hearts, minds, moods, feelings, and attitudes. Amen, Sister!

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com