Boxing Gloves, Walls, and Marriage

I was looking at my boxing gloves the other day (kick boxing is my favorite exercise), and I noticed they are wearing out. Some of the threads have unraveled, the sides are splitting and holes have appeared.   The air in my living room gets quite a beating several times a week with these gloves! I wear myself out because I fight hard and I always win.

 

I got to thinking about how I used fight for things I wanted to see happen in my marriage. I wanted my husband to be more compassionate and kind. I wanted him to help me more around the house. I wanted him to call me through the day. I wanted him to not work so much. I wanted him to initiate praying together. (I’m laughing right now, because I can hear my husband’s voice in my head, telling me, he wishes I would initiate something, too...and it’s not prayer...if you know what I mean! :) )

 

Anyway, I digress! For many years, I fought hard. In fact, I wore myself out. And, I never won. Oh, I may have won the argument, but I always lost the battle. My marriage got a good beating several times a week. Because I fought with weapons that were “earthly”, our relationship started to unravel and fall apart. My weapons of choice were things like, disrespectful words, the silent treatment, slamming doors, and nagging. Sound familiar? Whew! I’m so glad I’m not alone in this!

 

Are there changes you’re fighting to see happen in your marriage? What weapons do you use? Have the walls of anger, bitterness, resentment, unforgiveness, pride, fear, worry, doubt, prayerlessness, failed expectations, baggage from the past, or addictions, become such towers that you have lost sight of the fact the God still has a beautiful plan for your marriage?

 

Imagine God’s perfect plan, all wrapped up in a beautiful package. It sits there, behind that towering wall, waiting for you. That wall is so high, you can’t even see the package. In fact, that wall has been there so long, you forgot the package was even there. Or maybe, you still think about that package, but wonder if God has taken it away. Nope! It’s still there! So, how are you going to get it?

 

You must demolish the strong, towering wall! But, wait! Before you start, you need to know two things. First, you need to know what you’re up against, so you can set your mind firmly on the mission. And two, you need to know the most effective way to destroy it, so you can choose the best weapons. Is this a mission impossible? No way, my friend! Let’s go!

 

Know what you’re up against.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Eph 6:12

Are you guilty of seeing your husband as the enemy? After all, he’s the one stealing your joy, dreams and happiness, right? Not so! The Bible tells us very clearly that our struggle is not against flesh and blood. It’s time to change perspective. You are not the victim of a hopeless marriage. You are a warrior, given authority by God, to fight for His will to be done!

 

You probably know that God has a plan for your marriage, one that is full of beauty, hope, prosperity, joy, peace. and abundant life. But, did you know Satan has a plan for your marriage, as well? The Bible tells us that Satan has come only to steal and kill and destroy you (John 10:10). In her best-selling book, “The Power of a Praying Wife,” Stormie Omartian says, “Many difficult things that happen in a marriage relationship are actually part of the enemy’s plan set up for its demise. But, as wives, we can say, ‘I will not allow anything to destroy my marriage.’ We have been given authority ‘over all the power of the enemy’ (Luke 10:19).”

 

Dear wives, are you ready to stand up and fight like a daughter of the Most High God!   Put on your boxing gloves! We’re going to wear them out all right. But this time, we’re going to fight with the weapons God has given us. God says the weapons he gives us are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds (2 Corinthians 10:4). Praise God! Are you getting a fire in your belly? Do you know the power you have inside you? Oh, friend, you are more than a conqueror through Christ! Come back next week, Warrior Wife, and I’ll talk about the weapons of divine power. Oh, I can’t wait!

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Kami (Thursday, 07 February 2013 14:17)

    I like how you described the earthly weapons. Good point!! Looking forward to hearing more!

  • #2

    Anna (Thursday, 07 February 2013 18:11)

    Thanks, Kami! Love ya!

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com