A Mother's Treasure Box

But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. Luke 2:19

 

This week's blog is not what I had planned to write, but yesterday I was so blessed by a project I was working on for my MOPS Christmas party, that I just had to share it with you girls!  The project was inspired by my Christmas e-devotional.  I will post the entire devo in a separate blog, but to summarize, I talked about how Mary had been told many wonderful and amazing things about the baby boy, Jesus, she now held in her arms. Others had also heard and were amazed, but soon forgot and returned to life as usual. But, not Mary! She knew that the words proclaimed by God were worth keeping in her heart. Those words were a treasure to her and she would meditate on them daily.

 

God has also declared many wonderful things to us about our precious children.  As moms, do we soak in and believe what God says about our kids?  Or, are we just momentarily amazed by it and then forget as the challenges of parenting distract us?

 

So my project was to research some of the promises and declarations God speaks for our children.  As I plugged my kids names into the blanks of each statement, I pondered what has been declared!  It not only gave me a glimpse of His great love for them, but filled me with praise at what God is about to do in their lives.

 

I am giddy over the opportunity to share with you the treasures I found from God's word.  Read them slowly and meditate on each one. I pray it blesses you as a mom as much as it did me.  One more note, I want to get these truths into my kid's hearts as well.  After all, they need to know what God says about them, too!  So, I have the idea to rewrite each statement, personalizing it for my kids.  Wouldn't it be fun to hide a "treasure card" in their lunch box, shoes, pants pockets, or any other creative place you can think of?! I'm even considering purchasing a little "treasure box" for each of my kids and placing them each morning on the breakfast table with a new treasure card in it each day.  How fun!  Reuse the cards over and over.  I promise you, it will cause their roots to grow down deep as they grow up knowing who they are in Christ Jesus.  Praise God!   OK, here are your treasures!  I have 28 so far.  Depending on the feedback I get from you, I will post more as I continue my treasure hunt! :)

 

God knows everything about (insert child’s name) and is familiar with all his/her ways, so when I need help parenting him/her, I can go to God for wisdom and direction. God is the Owner’s Manual for my child.

 

God knows when (insert child’s name) sits down and when he/she rises up. So, when he/she reaches the age when I can’t be with him/her all the time, I can know that God never takes His loving eyes off (insert child’s name). He is my child’s ultimate care-taker.

 

(Insert child’s name) was made in God’s image. How perfectly PERFECT!!

 

Because of God, (insert child’s name) lives and moves and has his/her being. (Insert child’s name) whole life is found in Christ. I can praise God for his/her very breath, his/her non-stop energy, and his/her creativity.

 

(Insert child’s name) is a child of Almighty God, King of Kings and Lord of Lords. He/she is a prince/princess in the Kingdom of God!

 

God knew (insert child’s name) before he/she was even conceived! (Insert child’s name) was chosen by God when He planned creation! My child has a divine destiny!

 

All the days of (insert child’s name) life are written in God’s story book. God is at the beginning, the end and every page in between. I can trust God with every detail of (insert child’s name) life.

 

(Insert child’s name) was born at the exact right time and in the exact right location in history to fulfill a specific God-given purpose in His grand story. (Insert child’s name) has a grand purpose!

 

(Insert child’s name) is awesome-ly and wonderfully made. Each cell of his/her body was carefully crafted together by the hands of a Skilled Artist. When kid’s begin to tease my child, I can tell him/her that it is a lie. I can pray with (insert child’s name) and speak out loud God’s truth about him/her over and over until it drowns out the voices around him/her. (Insert child’s name) WILL know who he/she is in Christ!

 

 

(Insert child’s name) was not created by a distant and angry God, but by the one true God who is the complete expression of love. God longs to lavish His extraordinary love on (insert child’s name), not because of anything (insert chid’s name)did, but just because he/she is His.

 

God offers more to (insert child’s name) than I or his/her father ever could because God is the perfect parent! Every good and perfect gift comes from His hand. (Insert child’s name) is abundantly blessed!

 

God is (insert child’s name) Provider. God will meet all his/her needs. I can trust God to take care of (insert child’s name).

 

God has a plan for (child’s name) future. One that is full of hope, blessing and favor.

 

(Child’s name) is loved with such a great and everlasting love...a love so high and wide and long and deep that it is impossible for the human mind to fully grasp.

 

God’s thoughts toward (child’s name) are as countless as the sand on the seashore. God NEVER stops thinking about (child’s name).

 

God rejoices over (child’s name) with singing! All of heaven gets to hear God sing about my child! How cool is that!

 

God will never stop doing good to (insert child’s name). And when God says never, he means NEVER!

 

(Child’s name) is God’s treasured possession. So valuable, so rare, so precious.

 

God desires to establish (child’s name). He desires to make (child’s name) spiritual roots grow down deep and strong; to grow him/her up into a man/woman of excellence who has great character, confidence, courage and compassion.

 

God wants to show (child’s name) great and marvelous things! How wonderful are Your works, O God!

 

When (child’s name)seek’s God with all his/her heart, mind, soul and strength, God promises that (child’s name) will find Him! In fact, God is waiting and wanting to be found by (child’s name) so He can come into his/her life and they can have a grand time together!

 

God promises that when (child’s name) delights in Him, He will give (child’s name) the desires of his/her heart, for it is God who gave him/her those desires.

 

God is able to do immeasurably more for (child’s name) than all I can ask or imagine.

 

God is (child’s name) greatest encourager. I can help my child hear God’s encouragement by teaching him/her God’s Word.

 

God is (child’s name) Comforter in ALL his/her troubles. When he/she is broken hearted, God is close to him/her. As a shepherd carries a lamb, God carries (child’s name) close to His heart. God will wipe away every tear from his/her eyes and one day will take away all the pain he/she has suffered on this earth.

 

God is (child’s name) Heavenly Father and God loves him/her even as He loves His Son, Jesus. In Jesus, God’s love for (child’s name) is revealed.

God is not counting (child’s name) sins. He sent His one and only son, Jesus to die on a cross so that (child’s name) could be forgiven, enabling him/her to have a relationship with God and live forever with Him in eternal paradise. Praise God this ultimate expression of love. It is so great that words can not fully express its magnificence. Because of Christ, my child is free from sin’s bondage and eternal death.

 

When (child’s name) receives the gift of Jesus, he/she receives God. And, NOTHING will ever separate him/her from God’s love again. God and the angels in heaven will throw a party so grand, that reality show producers would be knocking down heaven’s doors to display it’s grandeur.

 

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Jessica (Friday, 04 October 2013 14:18)

    Wouldn't it be neat to find 31, then you would have one for every day of the month! :) Thank you for sharing these! I am printing them off right now.

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com