The Storm

Storms rolled over our house a couple nights ago.  My husband, Craig, and I had just tucked our kids into bed and then headed to our own bed for the night.  Everyone was off to a sweet, peaceful sleep.  It wasn't much later that the storm blew in.  Lightning lit up our bedroom like daytime and the booms of thunder shook our house.

 

Not much later, came the sound of tiny feet running down the hallway into my room.  Rachel (7) and Rebekah (5) promptly lifted up my covers and snuggled in next to me, moving in as close as possible.  They had tried at first to handle the storm themselves, but hiding under their own covers just didn't compare to mine.  Once nestled in, my girls quickly went back to sleep.  They found their place of safety, comfort and peace.  Even though the storm continued to rage around them, they were no longer afraid.

 

The next day, I started thinking about how the events of the night compare to my life and how God wants me to respond when a storm of life suddenly rolls in and shakes me to my core.  Sometimes, I try to handle it on my own.  I've got this!  Or, so I think.  When I try to face it without God, I find I'm overwhelmed by the trial or storm, unable to think clearly or logically.  Even if it is not a huge strom, God still desires that we be like little children and come running to him. 

 

In Psalm 91:4,5, it says, "He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.  You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day."

 

I hope that every time a storm, stressful situation, or big decision hits me that heaven will hear the sound of my size 9 feet running to God, then letting him cover me with his feathers.  I will nestle in close and find refuge.  It is my place of safety, comfort and peace.  Even though the storm continues to rage around me, I will no longer be afraid.  God is my shield and my strength.

 

If you get the chance, read all of Psalm 91.  Then take a minute to praise God for his faithfulness and protection over you!  Have a sweet day, my friend!

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Contact

Email: anna@chosenandcrowned.com

www.facebook.com/ChosenandCrownedMinistries

 

Web Design

Sarah Heller - sek127@yahoo.com

Images & Photography

Colleen Alexander - photographybycolleena@gmail.com

April Hauger - haugerhouse@me.com

Kami Hauser - ryanandkami@hotmail.com